Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-07-2011, 06:35 PM
S-ACU S-ACU is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 40
Default Re: SC48 & D-SHOW & VNC software.....is not possible!

Hello Howardk, I hope you clarify something in this link.
but we are trying to persuade to replace VNC for Standalone software is much better. I hope that Avid will listen.
Sorry for my English.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-07-2011, 10:31 PM
Tragic Dog Tragic Dog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 254
Default Re: SC48 & D-SHOW & VNC software.....is not possible!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Howardk View Post
Ok, I am not sure how to interpret that. . . are you saying that VNC Server and the "ECx Erhernet Option Software" are exactly the same product or just that the two products do the same thing?
BTW, I have used VNC for about 10 years on both Macs and PCs as well as other similar products such as Windows Remote Desktop Connection or RAdmin, so I understand the concept. . . just trying to understand exactly what does work with the Venue products.
The ECx software has a VNC server built in. The ECx ethernet option used to be, well, optional. Now I believe they include it in the base packages. It is according to Avid an "option card for VENUE FOH Rack (now standard in current FOH Racks) provides remote control of a VENUE system over a wired or wireless Ethernet network."
__________________
Jon Lillie
Behind the Light Productions
PT 10-CPTK-Motu Traveler v1
Mac Pro 2x2.8GHz Quad-Core, 14gigs of ram
Macbook Pro w/Retina Display, 2.3Ghz i7, 16gigs of ram
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-08-2011, 01:12 AM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,933
Default Re: SC48 & D-SHOW & VNC software.....is not possible!

Ok, now I see. I also read the install guide in the 2.9 update manual, mentions the different Mac & windows vnc programs. Which vnc works best on the iPad 2?
__________________
See my Public Profile for System Configuration Information
(Click on member name)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-08-2011, 02:45 AM
S-ACU S-ACU is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 40
Default Re: SC48 & D-SHOW & VNC software.....is not possible!

Hello Tragic Dog, Far as I know, for now in SC48 venue currently do not have the FOH Rack, and the card cannot be installed.
With the Yamaha Editor software and a simple LS9 can work on the mixer and monitors simultaneously without fighting over the control, in a Venue SC48 with VNC, one engineer is with his arms crossed looking how it works the other engineer.
Excuse my English.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-08-2011, 10:25 AM
Tim McCullcoh Tim McCullcoh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kansas
Posts: 75
Default Re: SC48 & D-SHOW & VNC software.....is not possible!

The SC48 has built-in Ethernet and does not require any accessory cards.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-08-2011, 10:40 AM
Tragic Dog Tragic Dog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 254
Default Re: SC48 & D-SHOW & VNC software.....is not possible!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim McCullcoh View Post
The SC48 has built-in Ethernet and does not require any accessory cards.
exactly, and on the LS9, I use one on a weekly basis and rarely do I find the need to use the Stagemix software. Now when the Ipad app goes live I will be downloading it, but as the venue is a 1024x768 native rez and so is the ipad, I'm all good for not having a need for a separate app.

That doesn't mean that you might find a need for it, but I do not see the point. I do agree though that they need to have the option for 2 people to work simultaneously, but I believe all but the D-Show have things that are not on the surface making it necessary to have access to the GUI.
__________________
Jon Lillie
Behind the Light Productions
PT 10-CPTK-Motu Traveler v1
Mac Pro 2x2.8GHz Quad-Core, 14gigs of ram
Macbook Pro w/Retina Display, 2.3Ghz i7, 16gigs of ram
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-24-2011, 03:48 PM
S-ACU S-ACU is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 40
Default Re: SC48 & D-SHOW & VNC software.....is not possible!

In this link more people with the same problem, please Sheldon there are solution in the future to solve this?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-16-2011, 05:38 PM
S-ACU S-ACU is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spain
Posts: 40
Default Re: SC48 & D-SHOW & VNC software.....is not possible!

Hi,
is there another alternative to VNC software, faster, until it is changed to a standalone version?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-20-2011, 11:15 AM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: SC48 & D-SHOW & VNC software.....is not possible!

once you install the ECx control software you can use Apps like iTeleport that work on an iPad for easy remote control. Setup takes 30 seconds to do.
I have yet to see any software period that allows 2 operations on one controlling different aspects of the same software application on one computer.
The closest this to that I have ever seen when I have an assistant running pro tools while I am on the Icon. Even that has it's limitations.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-21-2011, 12:14 PM
retodd4259 retodd4259 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 5
Default Re: SC48 & D-SHOW & VNC software.....is not possible!

The console is running winXPe. When you tell the console to accept remote control via ethernet, the VNC host fires up and is now able to be controlled via whatever vnc software you are using on whatever platform you are using. eCx is just a nice looking card with 2 male rj45 connectors on it from what i can see. ecx drivers are just the drivers for the ethernet adapter internal to the motherboard
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
show me your sc48 flightcase! digidesigner VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 07-26-2011 03:26 PM
SC48 reboot during show terryfryar@yahoo.com VENUE Live Sound Systems 10 05-15-2011 07:01 AM
SC48 Plug-ins rack unresponsive during show! andersf VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 04-06-2011 08:28 AM
VENUE D-Show 2.8.1 Software Update for SC48 Avid VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 12-15-2009 09:47 AM
VENUE D-Show 2.8 Standalone Software for VENUE SC48 Avid VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 05-13-2009 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com