Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:11 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default MIDI Region Export

Hi!
I know there is no direct way to do this...but is there some indirect way? Combination of something? Another app that would do it???

Say I have a friend stop over an dplay some drums with V-Drums. I save the MIDI performance. The friend did a bunch of things that are (sort of) hard to do: rolls, diff. speed flams, cool fills, etc. I split these into MIDI Regions in PT. Now I want to save each region I made into it's own .mid file. This way, I can keep them in a folder, and simply drag n drop into a session if I need/want. Saves importing a larger MIDI file, and having to dig thru and find each *piece* I may want. Make sense?

I cannot find a way to do this in PT (HD 7). I even looked at Cubase/Nuendo. If it is not possible in any way, shape or form in PT...what app COULD allow me to do this???
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:19 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: MIDI Region Export

A suggestion, Nikki K, within Pro Tools, could be to Separate the Regions, to your requirements and place each newly named Region on it's own respective Track coinciding with the name of the Region and use Import Session Data.

p.s. works on LE 7








filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:00 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: MIDI Region Export

Quote:
A suggestion, Nikki K, within Pro Tools, could be to Separate the Regions, to your requirements and place each newly named Region on it's own respective Track coinciding with the name of the Region and use Import Session Data.

p.s. works on LE 7
Thx!
I am doing some extensive MIDI loop creation, cutting from raw e-drum tracks. I would say hundreds of MIDI regions that need to be individual .mid files in the end.

My only way to accomplish this right now is to have the original MIDI track there, select the bars I want, paste 'em into a MIDI track below it at bar one, mute the original, export-MIDI, then move that region to yet another, muted MIDI track below that, back inline with the original track. PITA, but it does what I need. It would be sooo cool to have the ability to right-click on a MIDI region, and then select "export as .mid file." But, we dont have either of those features. Next choice would eb to have a nice macro ability to create the multi-step task I described, with only a pause for me to name the resulting .mid file, and another to name the region itself. Oh well!










filosofem

[/QUOTE]
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:31 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: MIDI Region Export

Quote:
I would say hundreds of MIDI regions that need to be individual .mid files in the end.
A Session File size concern did enter my mind.
Quote:
It would be sooo cool to have the ability to right-click on a MIDI region, and then select "export as .mid file."
Do you know why this is the case? A Region file is a Region file, is it not?

Nikki, thanks for not shooting me down, I wasn't sure if I'd crossed the line.







filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:14 PM
nikki-k nikki-k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hobette Alley
Posts: 2,357
Default Re: MIDI Region Export

No worries! I am very happy with your reply. Looking for other's ideas.

The work I am doing is creating MIDI loop type files, 1-4 bars. These will each need to be in their own .mid, for import into other apps/plugs/etc. It is like an hour or so of drumming, and without a direct "right-click region, export to .mid file" or macro capabilities, I am trying to see if maybe there is something I missed. Guess I should have just explained it liek that in the first post! LOL!

Thx again!
__________________
nikki k
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
On the other hand, you have different fingers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikki-k View Post
Sometimes ya just gotta put your tongue on the 9V battery just to see what all the fuss is about.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
export region as file BUG? lukeyy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-04-2010 10:46 AM
Midi region export psmworld Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-10-2009 05:36 PM
export midi and midi region Nese 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-16-2008 07:32 PM
Export MIDI produces corrupted data. Unable to export MIDI ! Chris7514 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-01-2007 07:18 PM
Export region problems kite 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-05-2006 12:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com