Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2004, 05:05 PM
martian martian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: hong kong
Posts: 337
Default command 8

just had a look at it on the digi welcome page.

Looks nice, didn't notice an rrp, but must admit this could be tempting as I'm still on the fence about what to get.

Tascam FW1394 offers HUI emulation for about US1300 and gives you enough physical outputs to do a surround mix with say DP4.1 so you'd hope they'd beat that.

CM motor labs new motar mate looks nice but yet to be released ( they told me US1500) but I felt that was a little expensive.. Though their rotary enncoders look very special....

Behringer have the US$199 fader pack, ( which is cheap) and hopefully won't break, audio quality isn't an issue as it's only faders after all..

serious doubts about that price huh?

Anybody pick up the rrp and release dates for the command 8?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2004, 10:35 PM
aziel aziel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 564
Default Re: command 8

Can you give a link for the Behringer fader pack? did a search without succes...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2004, 03:04 AM
JimmyM's Avatar
JimmyM JimmyM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 140
Default Re: command 8

Will it also work for Mac OS9 with PT 5.x with a 24mix+??????
__________________
Jimmy Makhaisingh
Producer Mix/Mastering Engineer
JimJam Studio

iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
PT11HD
HDX /HD i/o
Magma Thunderbolt 2.0 Chasis 3T
Manley Vari-Mu / MPassive Mastering version
Sonnox bundle / McDsp / FabFilter /
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2004, 12:36 PM
DAMNED DAMNED is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 9
Default Re: command 8

Once again though, proprietary hardware issues abound. If you ever want to use your control surface with another program, good luck. Digi is claiming compatibility via MMC, but how functional will it be ? -Where's the jog wheel ? Still no master fader ?
-Doesn't sound too "other user" friendly to me...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2004, 03:51 PM
bassist bassist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 88
Default Re: command 8

Is it compatible with DIGI 001? Or are we 001 users out of luck since we are at the bottom of the pole?
__________________
Critics wouldn't know music if it bit them on the ass...
-Frank Zappa
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2004, 01:36 AM
martian martian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: hong kong
Posts: 337
Default Re: command 8

http://www.behringer.com/b-control/index.cfm?lang=ENG

they have a collection of 3 in that series.

one is just a rotary encoder pack.

there is a review in SOS magazine too.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2004, 06:51 AM
JonM JonM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Japan
Posts: 157
Default Re: command 8

Quote:
Or are we 001 users out of luck since we are at the bottom of the pole?
No that would be we AMIII users.

My guess is that it will work with anything: surely the hardware is completely out of the loop???

Oh, and I can't afford it anyway.

Martian: what did the review have to say about the Behringer?

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2004, 04:31 AM
martian martian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: hong kong
Posts: 337
Default Re: command 8

sorry it wasn't SOS - it was mentioned in Future music march issue, and they said they were stunning people with it at the NAMM show.

they're was a big debate on this forum or the mac version of host systems

a guy called where022 slagged them completely ( doesn't think behringer does audio right)

I must admit I'd like to see them rather than ordering off the net.

However I have played with a behringer digi mixer and it was easy to use after using say an 02R. felt like a similiar build quality too. ( however I only played with it for 1/2 an hour a year ago so......)

funnily enough the guy , where022 I think his name was was also quoted later in the same mag regarding plug in's I think.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2004, 12:13 AM
aziel aziel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 564
Default Re: command 8

thanx!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-01-2004, 10:04 AM
new engineer new engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 97
Default Re: command 8

Yes, Is the command 8 compatible with the digi 001? Only OS 10 I presume.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any difference besides color between D Command and D Command ES? diamondschwin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-12-2012 12:15 PM
Command Keyboard Focus mode ' E ' command bug ? vudoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 09-10-2009 05:49 AM
Is it possible to use a Command 8 in combination with a D-Command? usastra ICON & C|24 2 05-03-2009 01:44 PM
command 7 webstereo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-10-2009 04:28 AM
Total Loss of Command 8 Command/Modifiers John Pisciotta ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 05-13-2005 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com