Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2019, 01:42 AM
Oblivion777's Avatar
Oblivion777 Oblivion777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Slovenia, E.U.
Posts: 495
Default Hdx4 - hdx6

I saw Avid demoing HDX6 rig ... was that a joke or are they really working on being able to use more than 3 HDX cards? Apparently the new MacPro 2019 will be perfect for HDX6 as it will offer 8x PCIe slots. I am on HDX2 now, but am thinking of upgrading by adding one more card ... as this is the current maximum, but will postpone the upgrade because I might as well 2x additional cards IF ProTools will support it. And what happens with the voices then? Will they increase to 1536 if one has a HDX6 system?
__________________
**********
Main DAW: MacPRO 5.1, 8-Core Xeon 2.93GHz, 24 GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, HDX2, PT2018 Ultimate, 2x UAD-2 Quad Satellites (v9.x) 2x HD I/Os, 1x Omni HD I/O, C|24 Control Surface
Auxilary DAW: MacBook Pro with Retina Display (2012), 2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT2018 Ultimate, 1x UAD Apollo Quad Audio Interface /w Thunderbolt Interface (v9.x)
**********
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2019, 01:58 AM
octatonic octatonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 224
Default Re: Hdx4 - hdx6

HDX6 is going to be a thing.

We won't know about the rest until the Mac Pro is out and Avid have a version of Pro Tools that supports HDX6.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2019, 02:16 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 617
Default Re: Hdx4 - hdx6

Who knows at this point. Avid did make a statement about the new Mac Pro and the potential for it to run a HDX6 system, but at the moment I think the limit is still set at HDX3. Someone correct me if I'm wrong. I would be surprised if Avid didn't pursue HDX6 as a possible way of squeezing more power and life out of HDX cards. In the same breath, there might be a vast void to cross between 'wanting a HDX6 system' and actually making it physically work. The 384 voice thing certainly didn't pan out how Avid expected.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2019, 08:08 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,825
Default Re: Hdx4 - hdx6

They demoed a working HDX6 system at WWDC (with a small S6). It already works (though the required cables aren’t sold yet to the public to reach across double wide slots )
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2019, 09:29 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,251
Default Re: Hdx4 - hdx6

Yes.. so funny Apple announced HDX6 support

But seriously, wasn't there a HDX4 on a PC some time ago? Shouldn't require so much on PT software but if longer cables are needed that might be sometime "fall" as they say
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2019, 01:11 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 819
Default Re: Hdx4 - hdx6

Can't wait for the new mac pro!!! So I can go hdx6 with all the used hdx cards hopefully people start selling off soon.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2019, 01:44 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,251
Default Re: Hdx4 - hdx6

Buy now, price might go up soon
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-11-2019, 03:21 AM
jasonkalman jasonkalman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 84
Default Re: Hdx4 - hdx6

The idea of upgrading to 6 HDX cards seems silly. Wouldn't Avid be looking to release an upgraded HDX card in a couple of years? Not sure you even need a card these days with TB3. The fact that HDX is still selling for around $3,000 USD make it even a harder sell. Add that to a $10,000 Mac Pro and the cost is exorbitant.

With that said, if your workflow calls for an HDX 6 set up and you have the $$$ then go for it. Why not.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.12 Ultimate, Omni, I/O, Pre, HDX, Logic Pro 10.4.4, UA Apollo UAD-2, UAD-2 Satellite, Waves 10 Mercury

https://soundcloud.com/jason-kalman
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-11-2019, 04:27 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,251
Default Re: Hdx4 - hdx6

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonkalman View Post
TThe fact that HDX is still selling for around $3,000 USD make it even a harder sell. Add that to a $10,000 Mac Pro and the cost is exorbitant.
To put this into perspective, not so long time ago entry-level HD system cost 10k and many thought that was "useless" and needed HD3 or even HD6 in expansion chassis.

Of course price of a Powermac wasn't 10k at that time, but the total cost of building a brand new turnkey system hasn't changed much -- and considering inflation things look very much cheaper to me now.

But if you don't have 10k then 10k is expensive.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2019, 09:56 AM
corp corp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 550
Default Re: Hdx4 - hdx6

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Buy now, price might go up soon
Now that's funny 8 year old HW
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDX4, is it possible? Delta Music Belgium Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 01-28-2019 11:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com