Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 04-14-2019, 10:06 AM
LesPaulGtr LesPaulGtr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 5
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Hi All,

I'm having a similar issue with my Euphonix MC Control. One encoder's switch and rotation work perfectly in test mode, but it doesn't sense touch. I've done the diagnostic as suggested by Eddie and confirmed touching one of the larger solder mounts does not register a touch so it must be the IC. I'd like to confirm the IC needed, but it appears to be different than the one used in the MC Mix (Atmel QT113B):

Microchip PIC 12F5091

Can anyone please confirm if this the correct one to replace?

Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0162.jpg (46.2 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 04-14-2019, 12:06 PM
MoPro's Avatar
MoPro MoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

I could be wrong, because maybe it should be that way, but resistor "R164" from your picture appears to be missing.... I'd check for loose parts rattling around the chassis.

Al
__________________
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Software Win 7 Ultimate (64bit) | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.25 (64bit) | HALion 6 (64bit)
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | MOTU MTP AV USB | Avid Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 04-14-2019, 12:16 PM
LesPaulGtr LesPaulGtr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 5
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Thank you for the reply! I just took a look at the other encoder circuit sections and they all have the resistor unpopulated. I've attached a more complete picture of all 4 encoder sections. So, good observation, but it looks like it's supposed to be that way...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoPro View Post
I could be wrong, because maybe it should be that way, but resistor "R164" from your picture appears to be missing.... I'd check for loose parts rattling around the chassis.

Al
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0163.jpg (21.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 04-14-2019, 01:08 PM
MoPro's Avatar
MoPro MoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Quote:
Originally Posted by LesPaulGtr View Post
Thank you for the reply....So, good observation, but it looks like it's supposed to be that way...
Okay...fair enough.

The joints for the Diode (D93)look a little suspect also, as do some of the other work... pitting in the joints themselves. Do you know if anyone else has been tinkering with this unit?

I only mention it because you may have to just touch-up some of those joints.

Al
__________________
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Software Win 7 Ultimate (64bit) | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.25 (64bit) | HALion 6 (64bit)
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | MOTU MTP AV USB | Avid Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 04-14-2019, 04:45 PM
LesPaulGtr LesPaulGtr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 5
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Hmm, good question. I'm not sure if anyone else worked on the unit, but a lot of the joints look the same. Thanks, I'll reflow those joints to be on the safe side before replacing the IC. In doing some research, it seems like while the Artist Mix uses ICs that had dedicated touch sensor pins, the MC control is using a fairly generic 8-bit PIC and having it's ADC to sense capacitive touch.

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoPro View Post
Okay...fair enough.

The joints for the Diode (D93)look a little suspect also, as do some of the other work... pitting in the joints themselves. Do you know if anyone else has been tinkering with this unit?

I only mention it because you may have to just touch-up some of those joints.

Al
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 04-15-2019, 06:34 AM
MoPro's Avatar
MoPro MoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Quote:
Originally Posted by LesPaulGtr View Post
The MC control is using a fairly generic 8-bit PIC and having it's ADC to sense capacitive touch.
Thanks!
Okay... I've been looking at the data sheet for that particular micro controller, and judging from the 12F509i footprint, it doesn't appear to have an A to D converter.

Just picking your brain here, and sorry for the questions... I know you're looking for answers!

If you buy a replacement PIC, how do you know it will be programmed to the spec of the Artist Control?

Even if you had a copy of MP-Lab, and a PIC programming setup... where would you get the program to flash to the PIC in the first place?

I don't know, but that is starting to sound like something proprietary from AVID... in addition to the PIC itself.

But , then again i'm just speculating here, and like you... just looking for answers.

Al
__________________
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Software Win 7 Ultimate (64bit) | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.25 (64bit) | HALion 6 (64bit)
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | MOTU MTP AV USB | Avid Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3

Last edited by MoPro; 04-28-2019 at 11:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 04-15-2019, 06:55 AM
LesPaulGtr LesPaulGtr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 5
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Thanks @MoPro. That is a REALLY good point which I didn't think of until now. I guess someone from Avid would need to chime in, but short of taking another good IC and cloning it (if copy protection is not enabled), this repair would be impossible for me to do. If I don't hear from Avid, I'll cut my losses and return to the seller.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-03-2019, 02:18 AM
polycorn polycorn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands
Posts: 9
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders

Quote:
Originally Posted by LesPaulGtr View Post
Thanks @MoPro. That is a REALLY good point which I didn't think of until now. I guess someone from Avid would need to chime in, but short of taking another good IC and cloning it (if copy protection is not enabled), this repair would be impossible for me to do. If I don't hear from Avid, I'll cut my losses and return to the seller.

Thanks again
Hi, I don't know if you worked out your problem but I have a broken Artist Mix. I could send you two of those IC's (one to use and one spare) if you want.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Artist Control Encoders - Can we make them linear? jvining Artist Series 4 10-11-2014 01:54 PM
Rotary Encoders randomly going into write colinweeks ICON & C|24 4 05-17-2009 07:59 PM
Are the rotary encoders touch-sensitive... Stig Eliassen ICON & C|24 2 07-31-2008 08:53 AM
Velocity sensitive vs fixed mode encoders. mixboy bob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 10-08-2006 04:19 PM
Difference between motion sensitive and touch sensitive faders? bp78 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-03-2002 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com