Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2019, 07:39 AM
J Morris J Morris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: accokeek md
Posts: 20
Default bussing to master track fails - ??

Here's a weird one. I'm in the middle of recording a track and suddenly all input to the Master track fails. The other faders are recording/playing correctly, but there's no level on the Master (and of course no sound overall). If I save and restart the session, it sometimes fixes the problem for a few passes, or sometimes not, but it always recurs. I'm pretty sure the problem is related to this particular ptx session since it hasn't happened (yet) on any other sessions. There's nothing unusual that I can detect in the problematic session.

Anyway, has anyone seen this before?

I'm using ProTools 11.3.1 on Mac OS 10.9.5.

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2019, 09:28 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,481
Default Re: bussing to master track fails - ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Morris View Post
Here's a weird one. I'm in the middle of recording a track and suddenly all input to the Master track fails. The other faders are recording/playing correctly, but there's no level on the Master (and of course no sound overall). If I save and restart the session, it sometimes fixes the problem for a few passes, or sometimes not, but it always recurs. I'm pretty sure the problem is related to this particular ptx session since it hasn't happened (yet) on any other sessions. There's nothing unusual that I can detect in the problematic session.

Anyway, has anyone seen this before?

I'm using ProTools 11.3.1 on Mac OS 10.9.5.

Many thanks.

Hi,


Try going to your i/o setup page. outputs tab. delete everything. and then create new output paths.




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2019, 01:16 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 719
Default Re: bussing to master track fails - ??

also check ya PlayBack Engine is assigned to the right interface..... ie: sometimes I startup PT and it has the Mac book pro listed there. And when I start a session I get a similar thing to what you are experiencing. I kill the session without saving change the playback engine and all is good.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.#, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2019, 02:22 PM
J Morris J Morris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: accokeek md
Posts: 20
Default Re: bussing to master track fails - ??

Thanks Chris and xrekcor! Chris, I tried re-creating the output paths, no luck. And xrekcor, I'd already tried switching playback engines, but it happens over my Mac speakers as well as through Mbox.

So I'm still in the dark.

The only thing I've managed to figure out is that the glitch will happen even if there's no Master fader at all. All the tracks cut out simultaneously even when they're not routed to a Master. (Though the track faders themselves are still signaling fine.)

Oh and one other thing: the cut-out happens at different places, and not every time the session plays, but always ON THE DOWNBEAT OF A MEASURE! How crazy is that....any clues?

Thanks,

J
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2019, 04:02 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,414
Default Re: bussing to master track fails - ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Morris View Post
Thanks Chris and xrekcor! Chris, I tried re-creating the output paths, no luck. And xrekcor, I'd already tried switching playback engines, but it happens over my Mac speakers as well as through Mbox.

So I'm still in the dark.

The only thing I've managed to figure out is that the glitch will happen even if there's no Master fader at all. All the tracks cut out simultaneously even when they're not routed to a Master. (Though the track faders themselves are still signaling fine.)

Oh and one other thing: the cut-out happens at different places, and not every time the session plays, but always ON THE DOWNBEAT OF A MEASURE! How crazy is that....any clues?

Thanks,

J
Pop-up the system usage meter in PT and see what happens when the silence happens. I wonder if the session is popping up an error message and for some reason you're not seeing it?

Also instead of a master fader try routing to an aux track and see what happens.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2019, 10:09 AM
J Morris J Morris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: accokeek md
Posts: 20
Default Re: bussing to master track fails - ??

Thanks, Jack, tried both but no luck.

The inconsistency is part of what makes it strange. Sometimes the track is fine for 10 or 12 plays, either recording or playback, and then it fails, I close and reopen, it keeps failing, etc. Then fine again....

More ideas are welcome!

J
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2019, 04:31 AM
dougdi dougdi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nyack
Posts: 25
Default Re: bussing to master track fails - ??

You didn’t mention if there are any plugins in the session. Are there hidden tracks that might influence playback?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2019, 08:02 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: bussing to master track fails - ??

Yes, I'd also suspect plugins - curious what's in there.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-02-2019, 07:11 AM
J Morris J Morris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: accokeek md
Posts: 20
Default Re: bussing to master track fails - ??

This session is only using one virtual instrument plug-in: EZDrummer (which I've used forever without problems). All the other plug-ins are part of the PT bundle:
D3 ComLim
Eleven Free amp
Mod Delay 3
Sans Amp PSA 1
EQ3 - 7 band
D-Verb (as an aux track)

The session only has about a dozen tracks (though there are maybe 10 inactive tracks as well), and none of these familiar plug-ins have ever caused problems for me.

What do you think?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-02-2019, 08:45 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: bussing to master track fails - ??

I'd try rendering the EZDrummer tracks and then remove the plug from the sessions, then see how it behaves for a while. Not a fix, but it would at least tell you if that had anything to do with it.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latency when bussing audio track and aux to another aux Domination-Records Windows 3 08-20-2014 07:24 AM
Kontakt 5 with LASS on a midi track bussing to an audio track Ambient Dreamer Windows 0 08-19-2012 06:22 AM
Bussing Efx to Aux Track and then bounce project to a Stereo Track arb232 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 01-06-2012 06:17 AM
Bussing a Master Fader Bazzle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 07-16-2004 01:21 PM
AUX MASTER BUSSING QUESTION tomhartman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-10-2004 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com