Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2009, 09:52 PM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 606
Default Internet Explorer 8

Sure hope I didn't blow it buying this laptop. ASUS, Windows 7 Home Premium.. So first time on the internet and there it is....... IE8!! I know there are issues with PT and IE8.. Well, I tried to download IE7 and the message came up the IE7 isn't supported by the operating system... Shoot! Now what..? Is there a way to get IE7 downloaded onto this new rig?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2009, 10:02 PM
Dogcode Dogcode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sechelt, B.C. Canada
Posts: 961
Default Re: Internet Explorer 8

Buy a Mac!.......Does`nt hurt to do some research before making a purchase,,,I think you are in a jam with this.


Dog
__________________
PT 9
Control 24
003 Rack
Mac Pro 2.66 Quad
Adam A7
Waves Gold, VSeries
Pultec Bundle
URS, McDSP
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2009, 10:03 PM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 606
Default Re: Internet Explorer 8

I searched the Conference and found posts that say that the issues with IE8 have been fixed. It does mention MP8.0.3, I think and that makes me wonder about MP 7.4cs10 which is what I'm running. Have the problems been fixed for IE8 and all versions of MP?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2009, 07:03 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 606
Default Re: Internet Explorer 8

Hey Benoni, Thanks for the calming words.. I posted last night at midnight. I had just gotten home and turned on the computer for the first time. I kinda freaked out that after all the reading, researching etc,etc, the one thing that should have but didn't cross my mind was IE8!! I haven't even loaded up PT on it yet.. I'll be doing that today hopefully. I'm not sure when the first bottle of champagne gets opened!! Thanks again for posting here. Happy New Year! Richrdc
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2009, 07:18 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Internet Explorer 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogcode View Post
Buy a Mac!.......Does`nt hurt to do some research before making a purchase,,,I think you are in a jam with this.


Dog
Dog please; have u not been around lately??? that would be the worst move I see ur a vet but I'm guessing u haven't been on the DUC in a yr or so...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2009, 10:38 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 606
Default Re: Internet Explorer 8

Benoni, My first hope is to be able to just install PTMP7.4cs10 with IE8 on the Windows 7 rig.. If it hangs up, then, another question is, if I'm able to remove IE8 from the Windows 7 OS, will Windows 7 allow for an install of IE7?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2009, 10:39 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 606
Default Re: Internet Explorer 8

Hit button too soon... First things first.... I'll definately be looking to load up PT when I get home first and see how it goes.. the prior post is if there's a need to uninstall?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2009, 10:42 AM
RichrdC RichrdC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, California
Posts: 606
Default Re: Internet Explorer 8

Hit the button too soon.... My first choice is, as you said, to go ahead and load up PTMP to see what happens.. In the event it hangs up, then, if I'm able to uninstall IE8, would Windows 7 allow for IE7 to be installed?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2009, 11:00 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Internet Explorer 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichrdC View Post
Benoni, My first hope is to be able to just install PTMP7.4cs10 with IE8 on the Windows 7 rig.. If it hangs up, then, another question is, if I'm able to remove IE8 from the Windows 7 OS, will Windows 7 allow for an install of IE7?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichrdC View Post
Hit button too soon... First things first.... I'll definately be looking to load up PT when I get home first and see how it goes.. the prior post is if there's a need to uninstall?
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichrdC View Post
Hit the button too soon.... My first choice is, as you said, to go ahead and load up PTMP to see what happens.. In the event it hangs up, then, if I'm able to uninstall IE8, would Windows 7 allow for IE7 to be installed?
:Keybeetss singing:"Richard are you OK, Richard are you OK, are you OK Richard"
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2009, 11:14 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Internet Explorer 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keybeeetsss View Post
:Keybeetss singing:"Richard are you OK, Richard are you OK, are you OK Richard"

Goin for another nomination are we Key?

Richard, FWIW earlier beta versions of Win7 used IE7 so there may be a way to remove IE8 if need be. I haven't looked into this so don't ask me how

The add "cookie" trick worked fine here.

Cookies, Snax and Krackerz are all good.

Happy new year to all.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will PT LE 7.3.1 cs7 work with Internet Explorer 8? Elton Hyland 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-15-2013 07:01 PM
AIR and Internet Explorer 8 RussUK Virtual Instruments 8 12-18-2009 03:29 PM
No Sound - Internet Explorer Scorpio253 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-29-2007 12:11 AM
I hate Internet Explorer. Ben Jenssen General Discussion 5 05-27-2003 12:05 AM
way OT: question regarding Internet explorer metaltim 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-04-2003 06:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com