Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2001, 06:55 AM
Wildberrie Wildberrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 15
Default Studied all posts on 9092 9093 9129 however, these errors are still driving me NuTs!

Dear reader, thanks in advance,

I have had the above-mentioned errors right from the start, first encountered with the Demo session, then on a test session of my own. The maximum playback, or recorded time I have been able to achieve is 30sec, average is more like 7sec.

My PT Only system is as follows:

OS: Win98se (clean install)
Mobo: ASUS CUSL2-C, Intel 815EP Chipset
(ASUS I-Panel attached)
CPU: PIII 800EB
RAM: 256 PC133
Video: AGP Nvidia Riva TNT2 Model 64

System HD: Seagate Barracuda ATAII, 20Gb/7200
(Master on Primary IDE)

Audio HD: Seagate Barracuda ATAII, 30Gb/7200
(Master on Secondary IDE)

CDRW: Sony CRX-140E
(Slave on Secondary IDE)

Slot 2: Digi001 (presently BIOSed to IRQ9)

In Device Manager:
All 3 drives have DMA selected, CDRW has Auto I.N. & "Disconect" disabled. System drive is listed as Generic 47, Audio drive as Generic 80. After installing chipset drivers, I reinstalled the "Standard Dual PCI IDE Controller" VMM32.VDX. I have tried switching the PCI controller from "Hardware" to "Bios" with the various combos listed below.

In Bios:
I have disabled: Serial ports, Parallels, USBs, Power Management. All drives are PIO4 & DMA4. I first tried IRQs: Auto, now slot 2 is set to IRQ9. Also tried Switching PnP off (with and without telling windows to get its IRQ from BIOS).

I opened the System monitor window in PTLE during playback. The System & CPU meters barely moved and when they did it was very low. The PCI meter was constantly at about 40%.

BTW, every combo of Buffer size and CPU usage has been tried.

I hope this is enough (& not too much [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] )info to allow some excellent detective work. I enjoyed recording my little test session so much, despite all the error interruptions, that I'm an ExtraDoubleKeenBean to get this working. Otherwise, I'll have to release upon the world my Opus of 20-second hits!

Thanks for diverting your Brain to my troubles, mine's just packed its bag and left.

Cheers,
WB.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2001, 09:18 AM
B.Ray B.Ray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 900
Default Re: Studied all posts on 9092 9093 9129 however, these errors are still driving me NuTs!

Try switching your audio drive to Slave on Primary IDE (leaving your CDRW on a channel of its own). If memory serves me right, I had the same problem with my 815 mobo and this solved it for me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2001, 10:21 AM
Mark_Knecht Mark_Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,500
Default Re: Studied all posts on 9092 9093 9129 however, these errors are still driving me NuTs!

Hi,
Moving a drive is a pretty radical first step. Try disconnecting all USB devices. Try disconnecting your Ethernet adapter.

Post a list of all cards in your machine and your interrupt settings. On balance I would think this machine should be just fine...

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2001, 11:54 AM
Wildberrie Wildberrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 15
Default Re: Studied all posts on 9092 9093 9129 however, these errors are still driving me NuTs!

Thanks for your suggestion B.Ray however, I just tried it and still no luck. It was looking good; I got about 22secs and then eeerrrrtt...
Btw, I enjoyed your Max EV posts re. the Macman


Hi Mark,

Thanks for your response and those you have posted regarding other user's similar queries, they have been most helpful.

Re. my system, the only cards/devices I have are listed in my original post. I don't have an Ethernet adapter or, any USBs. I have disabled USBs, Serials & Parallels in BIOS just in case it helped free-up IRQs and CPU power. There is nothing actually attached to these.

My interrupts are:
0 System timer
1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
2 Programmable interrupt controller
3 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
4 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
5 (free)
6 Standard Floppy Disk Controller
7 (free)
8 System CMOS/real time clock
9 Digidesign Digi 001
9 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
10 Intel(R) 82801BA/BAM SMBus Controller - 2443
10 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
11 NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro
11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse Port
13 Numeric data processor
14 Primary IDE controller (dual fifo)
14 Standard Dual PCI IDE Controller
15 Secondary IDE controller (dual fifo)
15 Standard Dual PCI IDE Controller


Thanks very much to both of you for your help,
WB.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2001, 01:26 AM
H-man H-man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 475
Default Re: Studied all posts on 9092 9093 9129 however, these errors are still driving me NuTs!

WB- Don't worry cause you have all the right elements there to work with. I have an asus cusl2-c, PIII 1gig, 256 pc 13 ram, tvt video, and a sound blaster live card, and my system smokes. I also have my Digi card in slot 2. but the irq is set to 10, I don't remember doing this in the Bios, I believe it just happened after I moved it to that slot, slot 6 is the SB live card. acpi irq holder for pci irq steering is the only other 10 irq with the PT card. Sounds like your headed in the right direction. Hummmmm very funny? Try assigning your digi to irq 10 and see if this does anything. I just know that we have the same setup and mine kicks butt! Good luck and post back to let us know how it's going. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
Don't be a puppet on strings!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2001, 05:55 AM
Wildberrie Wildberrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 15
Default Re: Studied all posts on 9092 9093 9129 however, these errors are still driving me NuTs!

Hey H-Man,

Its great to hear you've basically got the same rig as me and your's is kickin'. I tried IRQ 10 but I'm still getting the same errors. Maybe I should I should try IRQ 10 again but with the drives back on separate IDEs? How do you have your drives setup, Audio on Secondary IDE as Master etc...? I also tried changing the PCI settings in BIOS back to Auto and Switching PnP back on. Windows then puts the digi on IRQ5 plus the PCI steering. Still no joy…
It is pretty weird that our setups are virtually the same, yet mine isn't happy. I wonder what the difference could be... [img]images/icons/confused.gif[/img] Maybe its not diggin' my material [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

Thanks for your thoughts H-man
WB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2001, 02:04 PM
crs117 crs117 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: deland, fl (outside of orlando)
Posts: 1,537
Default Re: Studied all posts on 9092 9093 9129 however, these errors are still driving me NuTs!

I cannot recall what error message comes with the 9092 9093 and 9129 errors, but i will give you one piece of advice. The drives on any given ide channel will transfer data only as fast as the slowest device on the chain. You do not want to hook up a hard drive (especially as high performance as your drives are) on a channel that is shared with any optical devices (which are way slow in comparison). So i would suggest as B.Ray already has, and leave the drive on that channel. Also make sure your drives are defragged. One last thing to take advantage of ATA 66 or ATA 100 you have to have the new ide cables that have 80 wires instead of 40 (same thickness but i think the new cables have blue ends on them).

Christian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2001, 09:39 PM
Wildberrie Wildberrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 15
Default Re: Studied all posts on 9092 9093 9129 however, these errors are still driving me NuTs!

English Jim, hello Sir!

Are you a real Englishman? I'm an Aussie, thus my frequent use of coarse language.

Thanks for the encouragement. I think I shall try updating my bios and chipset drivers; perhaps this is the difference between my system and the other similar ones that work. Either that, or I will have to find a way of asking my PC what type of vibes it wishes to groove to.

Cheers,
WB.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-02-2001, 10:14 PM
Wildberrie Wildberrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 15
Default Re: Studied all posts on 9092 9093 9129 however, these errors are still driving me NuTs!

Hi Christian,

Thanks for the advice. Both IDE cables are 80 wires and I will keep the drives connected as per B.Ray's suggestion. One question though, in this IDE setup scenario, does the benefit of having the CDRW on a separate IDE outweigh the disadvantage of System & Audio drives sharing, as System tasks would compete with Audio for bandwidth? I do understand your point about data only travelling as fast as the slowest device. However, I'm wondering whether this might be the best overall:
Primary IDE: System Drive (master) CDRW (Slave)
Secondary IDE: Audio Drive (master)
?
Even though the above may not pertain to my main problem, the 9092 etc., (which btw, are H/W buffer & Audio Processing conflicting with other CPU tasks...errors) I would really like to know/fully understand the optimal drive setup.

Cheers,
WB.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-02-2001, 11:09 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Studied all posts on 9092 9093 9129 however, these errors are still driving me NuTs!

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Wildberrie:

9 Digidesign Digi 001
9 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI IRQ Steering
9 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
001 should not be sharing an IRQ with the ACPI bus. Hard set 001 to IRQ 7 or play around with the slot position until you get Digi sharing an IRQ with only PCI Steering. Another alternative would be to disable ACPI function in BIOS to free up IRQ 9 for Digi. This shifts the responsibility of asigning resources form Windows to BIOS. Expect Windows to rediscover and reinstall device drivers on first boot without ACPI. Also, you will most likely have to re-enter your PT serial # when you first open it, but this will not affect your D-Verb authorization.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9129, 9092, 9093 errors Jack Ruston Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 187 12-23-2012 02:19 PM
9092, 9093 and 9129 error update? Mascola24 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 4 09-28-2011 07:10 PM
Help! Errors 9092, 9093, 9094, 9129 persisting! doobaGeoff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-27-2007 07:32 PM
-9092 -9093 -9094 errors on PT LE 5.2.1 Chuck P 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-13-2004 09:24 AM
Interrupt errors -9092/ -9093/ -9094/ -9129 saxbill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-18-2002 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com