Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2019, 04:11 PM
beginnerprotool beginnerprotool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2
Default No Sound, 2019.6, Windows, ASIO4ALL

I started an audio + video project on a school computer (mac) and and need to finish it today on my personal computer (Dell, Windows 10). I'm using Pro Tools 2019.6 and have the ASIO4ALL driver installed and selected as playback engine.

The sound on my computer works, and PT recognizes the audio on the clips in the mixers. Despite this it isn't making any sound. I tried playing other generic projects generated by Pro Tools and ran into the same issue, so it seems like an issue with Pro Tools and my computer rather than the specific project.

I need to finish this project today and have struck out reading through other posts, so any help is appreciated! Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2019, 04:34 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: No Sound, 2019.6, Windows, ASIO4ALL

Hi Welcome to DUC.

Thanks for the helpful description of what you are going.

Double check you have the Playback Engine selected you think you do. (no seriously, go check)

Are Pro Tools track and master fader meters moving when you play stuff?

Exit Pro Tools.

Go into Windows Sound Control Panel and try to make sure Windows sound is *not* using the same device you are trying to use via ASIO4ALL

In the ASIO4ALL Control Panel you should see the audio devices available. Make sure that device you want to use via ASIO4ALL selected.

Start up Pro Tools. Check playback engine is correct. Does it work now? if not go to Setup>IO>Input and select all the IO paths by shift-clicking on them, then click on the Delete Path button, then click on the Default button. Repeat that for the Output and Bus pages.

Still not working attach screen shots of both the Windows Sound and ASIO4ALL Control panels and the Input, Output and Bus IO setup pages.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 10-13-2019 at 05:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2019, 06:59 PM
beginnerprotool beginnerprotool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2
Default Re: No Sound, 2019.6, Windows, ASIO4ALL

Thank you for the detailed message!

I didn't make any changes but the sound suddenly started working, the only problem is that now it is either static + clip sounds or just static. I've seen a few other posts on static, so I'll check through those before asking for more help.

Thank you again, so much.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2019, 07:27 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: No Sound, 2019.6, Windows, ASIO4ALL

Magic just working again may be the playback engine was not what you thought it was.

Check the monitor cables/connections.

If things are cutting in and out then you may have a problem with ASIO4ALL and/or the underlying Windows audio driver. This is not a good way to work, you are nearly always better off with a dedicated ASIO audio interface. It may be worth checking you have the latest WDM audio drivers and ASIO4ALL versions... try lookin at the audio chip/sound card manufacturers website for their latgest WDM drivers... and if they have ASIO drivers use those and forget using ASIO4ALL.

Static or a fast clicking noise?

What IO buffer size? What sample rate? Set it as large as it can go to test. If you are just mixing it should be set that way anyhow.

Make sure ignore errors is not checked in the playback engine dialog... and report any AAE errors that happen.

Try starting with a stupidly simple session, just one stereo audio track and drag and drop a know good MP3 or similar onto that track... does that play OK?

If you have low signal levels coming out of Pro Tools and are having to turn up the monitor gain you will hear static/white/pink noise, especially on cheap computer monitors. Try increasing the level on the master fader and decrease the volume on the monitors.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Sound Problems, with ASIO4ALL and Focusrite 2i2 TanukiJessica Pro Tools 12 4 09-12-2017 09:41 PM
BSOD Windows 10 ASIO4ALL djbigkraq FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 0 03-28-2016 09:12 PM
Pro Tools 10 asio4all HP Pavilion no sound malmalibu Pro Tools 10 1 08-29-2013 07:22 PM
No Sound from ASIO4ALL v2. Need help or another option. BelmontBrews Windows 4 10-05-2012 08:13 PM
Pro Tools 10 & ASIO4ALL on a Mac running Windows aj88keys Pro Tools 10 1 01-09-2012 02:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com