Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2019, 10:10 AM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Europe, Belgium
Posts: 82
Default Problems with LLM / Allow sends to persist during LLM

Hi everyone,

I filed a case with Avid, but was wondering whether anyone here encountered a similar problem.

- I am currently setting up a monitor mix on the physical Cue output of an HD OMNI.
- I have an Audio track that has an AIR Reverb plugin in the first slot (for this test) and a Send towards this physical Cue output. The idea is to control the monitor level with this Send.
- The LLM path is assigned to this Cue output in I/O setup.
- The 'Allow sends to persist during LLM' is enabled.
- When I put the Audio track in Input Monitoring, the audio passes, with reverb on it, to the Cue output. This is correct.
- When I enable LLM, a double signal is passed to the Cue output, and strangely, the Reverb can still be heard as well. This is unexpected.
- The same happens if I assign the Output of the Audio track directly to the Cue output (instead of using the Send).
- When I drag the Send to another slot, the signal gets cut. Closing and reopening the Session fixes this.
- If I disable 'Allow sends to persist during LLM' everything works as expected, but then I can no longer use the Send to feed a monitoring Reverb on an Aux channel. When enabling LLM, the Reverb insert is no longer processed, and no sends persist, except for the Send that is feeding the physical Cue output!

So, I have no idea how it is possible that with 'Allow sends to persist during LLM' enabled, the plugins also seem to persist towards the LLM path! Any ideas?

Cheers,
Xavier
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2019, 10:20 AM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Europe, Belgium
Posts: 82
Default Re: Problems with LLM / Allow sends to persist during LLM

I'm adding a screenshot of the Session in case anyone would like to verify.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2019-10-06 at 18.16.44.jpg (30.9 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2019, 05:28 PM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Europe, Belgium
Posts: 82
Default Re: Problems with LLM / Allow sends to persist during LLM

Appears this was already broken in 2018.7 (or earlier) and AVID is doing nothing about it: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=400587.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2019, 10:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,875
Default Re: Problems with LLM / Allow sends to persist during LLM

For me, LLM has always had issues, going back to PT9. I simply don't use it and would bet you may not need to either. Any modern computer should be fine tracking at a buffer setting of 64(44.1 or 48K) or 128(88.2 or 96K). My PT/Native rig records 6-piece bands at 64 buffer while providing 6 stereo headphone mixes from within the session(with up to 48 live inputs).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2019, 06:38 AM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Europe, Belgium
Posts: 82
Default Re: Problems with LLM / Allow sends to persist during LLM

For clean tracking, you're right. But this is a rerecording/overdubbing session with loads of plugins and VIs where some physical instrument parts and vocals need to added. Needs a high H/W buffer size to keep the session running and LLM enabled to allow for the player/singer to be in time.

Anyway, most likely Avid's implementation of the 'Allow sends to persist during LLM' is faulty. The case has been escalated and is now under investigation.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2019, 07:05 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,113
Default Re: Problems with LLM / Allow sends to persist during LLM

You can also simply bounce the stuff and have overdubs over a 2-track
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Latency with LLM + Sends Persist Normal? indeloon85 Pro Tools 2019 6 07-23-2019 09:33 PM
PT 9 + Firestudio Tube Presonus + Win 7 = CRASHS ! problems persist Frecord Windows 2 06-15-2011 01:32 PM
Problems with bus sends. BenGra Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 09-01-2010 01:23 AM
Problems with SOUND, AUX, and SENDS dr166006 Post - Surround - Video 3 01-22-2009 03:12 PM
Hold off on 7.3,1 to 7.4 upgrade.... BIG problems persist !! GrandPianoTracks 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 04-02-2008 10:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com