Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2019, 01:12 AM
PisaniAdam PisaniAdam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 3
Default ProTools won't start while connected to UR44 (Line 994 Assertion Error) [SOLVED]

Hello fine folks,

I haven't needed protools since 2011, and am thus a little rusty on getting everything working. I have a brand new Steinberg UR44 hooked up, with current drivers installed and the "Tools" package installed as well. Brand new ProTools 2019.6 install. Brand new (today) Dell XPS15. Sandra report below (I just copied the computer hardware summary, if I need more stuff let me know).

What gets me is that I had this issue when I installed protools on my old laptop, yesterday. I then installed Tools for the UR44, and ProTools worked fine, for several hours! Then I moved my laptop to another room and plugged everything in and it gave me the line 994 error (see below for exact error message). My laptop's been having issues of late, and I knew I had complete coverage at the MS store, so I picked a new model up today, hoping that'd solve all my problems, but I'm getting the same error on a brand new install.

I've gone through the usual process, based on what I've found online (and specifically on this forum). I tried holding N on startup (program crashes, no message, just disappears as it's about to finish its progress bar). I tried reinstalling drivers (no change). I deleted my user AppData folder (no change). ASIO4All is (I believe) for those not using an interface, though I had tried that on my previous XPS 15 to no avail as well.

Could not complete your request because Assertion in "E:\ Code\ 238951\ ProTools\ AAE\ Source\ AAX\ CFicAAXWidget.cpp", line 994.


SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : DESKTOP-QHVTC2Q
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : Dell XPS 15 7590
Serial Number : 2JJ****
Chassis : Dell Notebook
Mainboard : Dell 0VYV0G
Serial Number : /2JJ98Y2/CNC************
BIOS : Dell 1.1.1 05/31/2019
TPM - Trusted Platform Module : NTC NPCT75x 2.0 (PCR 24)
Intel vPro : 12.0.32.1421
Total Memory : 15.75GB SO-DIMM DDR4

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-9750H CPU @ 2.60GHz (6C 12T 4GHz/4.5GHz, 3.7GHz IMC/4.2GHz, 6x 256kB L2, 12MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC BGA1356/1528

Chipset
Memory Controller : Dell Core8H (CofeeLake-H 6C) Host Bridge/DRAM Registers 100MHz, 2x 8GB SO-DIMM DDR4 2.67GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HMA81GS6JJR8N-VK 8GB SO-DIMM DDR4 PC4-21300SO DDR4-2666 (19-19-19-44 4-63-21-7)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HMA81GS6JJR8N-VK 8GB SO-DIMM DDR4 PC4-21300SO DDR4-2666 (19-19-19-44 4-63-21-7)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Dell SHP14B9 Display (3840x2160, N5V8C€LQ156D1, 15.3")
Video Adapter : Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 (24CU 192SP SM6.3 1.15GHz, 768kB L2, 3.9GB DDR4 5.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL : Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 (192SP 24C 1.15GHz, 512kB L2, 6.3GB DDR4 5.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)
OpenCL : nVidia GeForce GTX 1650 (1024SP 16C 1.56GHz, 4GB)
D3D 11 : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 (3.9GB)
D3D 11 : Intel(R) UHD Graphics 630 (192SP 24C 1.15GHz, 768kB L2, 128MB DDR4 5.33GHz 128-bit, Integrated Graphics)
OpenGL : GeForce GTX 1650/PCIe/SSE2 (4GB)

Pen & Touch
Touch Digitiser : Integrated
Multi-Touch : Yes
Simultaneous Touches : 10
Pen Digitiser : Integrated

Storage Devices
KXG60ZNV256G NVMe TOSHIBA 256GB (256GB, PCIe/NVMe) : 238GB (C:)

Logical Storage Devices
OS (C:) (BitLocker/AES128+XTS) : 221GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ KXG60ZNV256G NVMe TOSHIBA 256GB (256GB, PCIe/NVMe)
WINRETOOLS : 990MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ KXG60ZNV256G NVMe TOSHIBA 256GB (256GB, PCIe/NVMe)
Image : 15GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ KXG60ZNV256G NVMe TOSHIBA 256GB (256GB, PCIe/NVMe)
DELLSUPPORT : 1GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ KXG60ZNV256G NVMe TOSHIBA 256GB (256GB, PCIe/NVMe)
ESP : 676MB (FAT32, 4kB) @ KXG60ZNV256G NVMe TOSHIBA 256GB (256GB, PCIe/NVMe)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller #1 : Dell C240 Series Chipset Family LPC Controller (CM246) - A30E
Audio Device : Dell Cannon Lake PCH cAVS
Disk Controller : Dell Cannon Lake PCH Shared SRAM
Disk Controller : Dell Mobile SATA RAID Controller
USB Controller #1 : Dell Cannon Lake PCH USB 3.1 xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller #2 : Dell JHL6340 Thunderbolt 3 USB 3.1 Controller (C step) [Alpine Ridge 2C 2016]
SMBus/i2c Controller #1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft Software Printer Driver (300x300, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Print To PDF (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network) (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Killer(R) Wi-Fi 6 AX1650x 160MHz Wireless Network Adapter (200NGW) (802.11n (HT), AES-CCMP, 144.4Mbps)

Power Management
Battery #1 : SMP DELL GPM0365 97.00Wh/7.36Ah

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 10 Personal 10.0.18362
Platform Compliance : x64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2019, 09:08 AM
PisaniAdam PisaniAdam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: ProTools won't start while connected to UR44(Line 994 Assertion Error)

Since posting this last night I uninstalled 2019.6 and tried both 2019.5 and 12.3.1 (I had an old student license from 2011 that worked). 2019.5 had the same issues as .6 did, and 12.3.1 said "Selected audio device could not be initialized. Please choose another device", then when I pressed OK it says "AAE error -6117 was encountered" and sends me back to "Selected audio device could not be initialized" and the back and forth between those 2 messages just keeps going.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2019, 04:59 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,861
Default Re: ProTools won't start while connected to UR44(Line 994 Assertion Error)

2 things that may help:
#1-whenever you disconnect the interface(like when you moved to another room), its best to shut the computer down. Move things and reconnect, then restart the computer.
#2-on Windows, you need to open Sound Properties and set the Windows "Default Playback Device" to the on-board sound card(NOT your interface). That way, Pro Tools can have control over the interface(Windows tends to take it over and can cause a hardware conflict).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2019, 05:08 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: ProTools won't start while connected to UR44(Line 994 Assertion Error)

Always Google search for assertion errors. And it's the file name the assert is happening in much more than the line number). You would have found this...

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...t-cpp-line-822

Make sure Windows is not configured to use the same interface, as Dave points out, and if that is not it work though all the stuff in that note.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2019, 05:55 PM
PisaniAdam PisaniAdam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 3
Default Re: ProTools won't start while connected to UR44(Line 994 Assertion Error)

Thank you for the idea about windows using the interface on startup. It was that! Problem 100% solved.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
protools le 8 help with Assertion line 222 error koolaa k coles General Discussion 5 04-07-2014 11:39 PM
Error: Assertion line 621 roofus Windows 4 03-17-2013 02:32 PM
Assertion Error in... Line 476 Rowas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-14-2012 10:51 AM
Assertion error in line 478? Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 3 03-02-2006 03:03 PM
Mix Plus 6.4.1 Assertion error in line 894 AlliedPost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-30-2004 12:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com