Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2018, 04:33 AM
yl956 yl956 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: houston
Posts: 52
Default clearing up space on your drive

so i purchased a (samsung 970 evo 500gb m.2 drive) to replace my hdd drive that came with my pc... i cloned the hdd drive to the 970 and used the 970 to boot up my system/programs.. i also purchased a (samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd) to use as a secondary drive for storage..the thing is i already had up to 300gb of storage on my hdd drive that transferred to the 970...so i wanted to clear up some space off the 970 into to my secondary drive (samsung 860) i already moved some audio files and project files..i was wondering if i could move some vst&axx files i have alot of vst&axx files from protools and fl studio that i want to move, but i dont want to mess up the flow i got going everything"s running smoothly right now...

Last edited by yl956; 12-12-2018 at 08:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2018, 08:43 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,897
Default Re: clearing up space on your drive

Nope. Don’t ever move any plugins from their repective folders ss that will make PT not see them. Same with any other DAW. You can move the libraries like kontakt or similar but never any aax, vst, au etc. they don’t take much space at all compared to audio and other applications..
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2018, 09:09 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,630
Default Re: clearing up space on your drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
... You can move the libraries ...
Yep. Leave the plug install, but ok to move the sound library. You'll have to point the plug to the new library location - an easy one-time process.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.10 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2018, 07:06 PM
yl956 yl956 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: houston
Posts: 52
Default Re: clearing up space on your drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Nope. Don’t ever move any plugins from their repective folders ss that will make PT not see them. Same with any other DAW. You can move the libraries like kontakt or similar but never any aax, vst, au etc. they don’t take much space at all compared to audio and other applications..
ok thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2019, 03:57 PM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: clearing up space on your drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Nope. Don’t ever move any plugins from their repective folders ss that will make PT not see them. Same with any other DAW. You can move the libraries like kontakt or similar but never any aax, vst, au etc. they don’t take much space at all compared to audio and other applications..
Hi Christopher, long time! I've been absent...
My aax plugins have always resided where they should be, but interestingly enough, all my vst plugins are on a different drive. Not on C. I've got a folder on my F drive (ssd) called Program Files in which there is another folder named VstPlugins, which contains all my vst's. I just direct any app that needs vst's to that folder. I've been doing that for about a year, and it works like a charm.
__________________
X99 | i7 5820 | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256HAFV-000H7 SSD 256GB | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT12.8.1 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clearing out empty space at the end of a session arneyz Tips & Tricks 2 02-16-2017 09:42 AM
Clearing extra timeline space in 12.6 firmflange Pro Tools 12 19 11-15-2016 11:59 AM
Can´t get cloud storage space back when clearing clips i clip list? surstromming Avid Cloud Collaboration 8 04-01-2016 12:05 PM
clearing unused regions/disk space jameynate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-20-2007 12:08 PM
Clearing empty space from end of song cruisemates 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 09-19-2004 09:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com