How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-21-2023, 01:09 PM

Default Newbie Here: How to use vst plugins in PT 12 HD

hey all
first off, awesome community here,thank you all..
i'm using pro tools 12 HD and id like to be able to use my plugins i used on my old pro tools 8, is this possible?

thank you in advance

Mike
Old 01-21-2023, 01:27 PM

Default Re: Newbie Here: How to use vst plugins in PT 12 HD

Hi welcome to DUC.

What exactly do you mean?

VST as in VST format plugins?

Or VST as in lazy slang for a virtual instrument (VI)? If you were running RTAS format VI plugins in Pro Tools 8 you cannot run them in Pro Tools 12 which uses AAX-64 plugin formats. The best thing to do is likely find later versions of those RTAS plugins in AAX format. Some vendors may gave free upgrades, others you may need to purchase updates. Any current plugin claiming AAX support will be 64 bit and may run in Pro Tools 12, but the challenge is if the Plugin is compatible or not on the old operating system you might be running to support Pro Tools 12 (ah but I see you are on Windows... so really not near any issues that show up on Macs).

The RTAS to AAX transition happened about a decade ago, starting with Pro Tools 10, you can google search DUC or the general web and find lots of old answers to questions about plugins if you have more detailed questions.

My advice for people getting started is not to try to run a computer/DAW museum, instead get on the latest supported Pro Tools version with current supported plugins.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 01-21-2023 at 01:40 PM.
Old 01-21-2023, 01:33 PM

hiya Darryl, nice to meet ya