Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2009, 10:16 AM
villagesound villagesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 81
Default Can't move the cursor playback location?!?

I just upgraded my PT to 8.0.1. I am having this issue where i can't move the cursor for playback. If i want to jump to a section in the middle of the selection, i use the selector tool to select the spot in the timeline - yet then it just plays from the beginning of the session. I have to fast forward in order to advance ahead in the timeline. How do i change this!? Anyone!? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2009, 10:47 AM
Sean Russell Sean Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: Can't move the cursor playback location?!?

Link Timeline / Edit or Insertion Follows Playback.

In the edit window, with Keyboard/Command Focus ON (little a..z icon on right in PT8 on Left in PT7)

Try doing a Shift-? To link the timeline/edit.

If that doesn't work, try the 'n' key to toggle timeline insertion follows playback.

Both of these trigger icons in PT8 to glow blue in the upper left hand portion of the edit window.

HTH
__________________
... but does it help the chorus?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2009, 11:33 AM
c-tone c-tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Can't move the cursor playback location?!?

You probably have pre-roll turned on by mistake. If it is on and set to a high value, it will play back from the beginning of the session. Open the transport and deselect pre-roll if it is on.
__________________
www.clifnorrell.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Snap edit cursor/playback location to nearest grid? centerauctions 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-10-2011 03:26 PM
Cursor wont move during playback Stackfu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-22-2010 06:43 AM
Why does playback start before cursor location? boneboy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 04-29-2010 03:10 PM
new breakpoint at playback cursor location ? sauna-l Tips & Tricks 2 02-01-2007 07:03 AM
How do i insert a region on the cursor location !! vudoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 01-02-2005 04:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com