Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2020, 03:11 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default So.. Cubase Sidechain ADC is a game changer

Hi.. All other DAWs that supposedly have full plugin delay compensation have failed at this (at least pro tools doesn't claim to have any on sidechains).

Cubase 8 and 9 were both 100% broken with sidechain latency compensation, in fact it was easier to work in pro tools cause you could move clips back by samples and saw the delay number easily displayed IN samples.

I am demoing Cubase 10.5 at the moment, just to see whether it's worth upgrading my 9.5 license, and I am blown away.

I put it through HELL and it compensated *everything*.

I just used a simple test with a VI pad, 4 bars, 4 chords, and a dynamics plugin on it, with the dynamics plugin sidechain being fed from an audio track with a simple kick drum loop.

This was a very easy way to test, as I was simply gating the pad with a 4 beat kick, so any fluctuation in timing would be instantly noticeable.

SO..

The only gate plugin I could get with more than 11ms latency was neutron 3..(i could get pro G to 11ms by enabling oversampling and look ahead) and the only way I could do this is by enabling every process in neutron in multiband mode, which got it to 58ms. That way I was able to test the sound when all the previous effects were disabled (they were all just at "flat" settings anyway, only activated to add latency), and then enabled. Of course the gate was enabled at all times. I even made the gate multiband to add that extra latency, but the top band was like in the 15K range so the band doing the work was basically broadband anyway.
Timing was correct at both 3ms latency (the base setting) and 58ms.

So.. I then decided to push it further, and put various latent effects in the same insert path as the gate, before AND after it, and got to around 500ms.. No issues!

So I went one further.. I added a fab filter linear phase EQ to the *kick* track, and it didn't budge.. Just a millisecond burp to readjust quickly.

This is telling me how amazing it is to have sidechain latency compensation. You can basically chuck any latent plugin that affects sidechain and just never have to think about it. I specifically and very heavily limit my choice of S/C plugins in PT due to the lack of compensation.

They say HDX has sidechain ADC. Does anyone know if that's for native AAX as well as DSP, or only DSP? I asked this question ages ago but was unable to get an answer. If it can do native as well, yet another reason I am hanging out to finally upgrade to HDX.

BTW, Logic's sidechain ADC is completely broken in every way, if anyone is wondering.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2020, 08:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,682
Default Re: So.. Cubase Sidechain ADC is a game changer

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
They say HDX has sidechain ADC. Does anyone know if that's for native AAX as well as DSP, or only DSP? I asked this question ages ago but was unable to get an answer.
They also say it works with HDN, but Avid hasn't made a big deal of it. Why don't you take the free trial and try it yourself as you seem to be invested in this?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2020, 10:11 AM
XJENSEN XJENSEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Gent, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 263
Default Re: So.. Cubase Sidechain ADC is a game changer

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
They also say it works with HDN, but Avid hasn't made a big deal of it. Why don't you take the free trial and try it yourself as you seem to be invested in this?
Not true.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2020, 01:45 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: So.. Cubase Sidechain ADC is a game changer

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
They also say it works with HDN, but Avid hasn't made a big deal of it. Why don't you take the free trial and try it yourself as you seem to be invested in this?
it doesn't.
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2020, 03:32 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,682
Default Re: So.. Cubase Sidechain ADC is a game changer

Okay then, I've heard baloney


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Game Changer!!-Pro Tools AS a Rewire Slave-with RME TotalMix!! &collectively64bit! Diccer Pro Tools 10 36 12-08-2018 04:12 AM
"A game changer" EricWillhelm Pro Tools 10 88 10-31-2011 06:58 PM
You see this Guitar? Ernie Ball Music Man 'Game Changer' Demo Benoni Eleven Rack 19 03-24-2011 03:49 PM
Is i7 a game changer for laptops running PT9? betovn Pro Tools 9 2 03-21-2011 07:39 AM
A true game changer... elicious General Discussion 1 08-25-2010 06:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com