Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-19-2018, 03:45 PM
paddyrfc paddyrfc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6
Default Pro Tools 2018 install

Hi,

Hope someone can help me with this, I tried upgrading to PT2018. I had PT12.6.1 & PT Express already. When I tried to upgrade I got the following message:

"Incompatible Pro Tools installation detected. Before installing Pro Tools 12, please uninstall Pro Tools or upgrade to Pro Tools 10.3.10 or higher"


I have taken the following steps to try and resolve but still keep getting the error:

Uninstalled PT Express
Uninstalled PT12
Cleaned Registry
Deleted any AVID\PT folder on C: Drive
Tried to install PT12.5 & PT 12.6 (same error)

I have researched this and have found other people have had the same problem with a OS reinstall the only suggested solution.
Does anyone have a less drastic solution.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2018, 07:35 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,419
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 install

Windows or Mac? When you uninstalled PT12, did you also uninstall the HD driver?(this is regardless of whether you have an HD license). If not, it could be the driver fooling PT into this issue(if on Windows, go to Control Panel>Uninstall a Program and look for Avid HD Driver and uninstall).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2018, 03:35 AM
paddyrfc paddyrfc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 install

Thanks for the reply, I have uninstalled everything PT related (drivers, codecs, app manager) but no joy. I haven't uninstalled the plugins and virtual inst so will try that later.






AMD Phemon II X6 1090T Processor
20GB Ram
320GB SSD
Win 10 64bit
Akai EIE Pro
Pro Tools 2018
__________________
AMD Phemon II X6 1090T Processor
20GB Ram
320GB SSD
Win 10 64bit
Akai EIE Pro
Pro Tools 2018
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2018, 04:56 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,267
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 install

Something that I found when I had a Windows system and doing uninstalls is to after you empty the trash is to reboot between each uninstall and registry cleaning. Back in the day I didn't have CCleaner - is that what you used or did you go through the registry manually?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2018, 05:27 AM
paddyrfc paddyrfc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 install

Hi,

Did cc cleaner and reboot when a did the initial uninstall and numerous times after each failed install. I edit the registry manually a number of times. I am thinking at this stage that at solution will be a bit leftfield as none of the normal "remove program, clean registry, delete old folders" is working.

Thanks for the reply
__________________
AMD Phemon II X6 1090T Processor
20GB Ram
320GB SSD
Win 10 64bit
Akai EIE Pro
Pro Tools 2018
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2018, 05:41 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,267
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 install

Quote:
Originally Posted by paddyrfc View Post
Hi,

Did cc cleaner and reboot when a did the initial uninstall and numerous times after each failed install. I edit the registry manually a number of times. I am thinking at this stage that at solution will be a bit leftfield as none of the normal "remove program, clean registry, delete old folders" is working.

Thanks for the reply
Drastic as it seems you might be looking at a Windows reinstall. Wipe the hard drive and all that.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2018, 06:02 AM
paddyrfc paddyrfc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 install

I have kinda resigned myself to that. I found a spare HD to do it on so I don't have to Wipe the main drive. Its a pain to have to run a separate HD just for PT but that seems like the only fix in the short term.
__________________
AMD Phemon II X6 1090T Processor
20GB Ram
320GB SSD
Win 10 64bit
Akai EIE Pro
Pro Tools 2018
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2018, 07:48 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,328
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 install

When you get things installed and running smooth - before installing PT - make a backup image. Then install PT. If it's not working properly, just restore the image. And make an image when PT is working properly. I image nightly and before any install/uninstall/upgrade/update. I also have archived images I can go back to, such as Windows installed and all programs before PT and those needed for PT. I use Macrium Reflect, others like Paragon or similar.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2018, 07:49 AM
paddyrfc paddyrfc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 install

Will do, thanks for the tip.
__________________
AMD Phemon II X6 1090T Processor
20GB Ram
320GB SSD
Win 10 64bit
Akai EIE Pro
Pro Tools 2018
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2018, 04:38 AM
paddyrfc paddyrfc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools 2018 install

Just an update, The only solution I could find was to do a fresh install of windows and then reinstall Pro Tools.
__________________
AMD Phemon II X6 1090T Processor
20GB Ram
320GB SSD
Win 10 64bit
Akai EIE Pro
Pro Tools 2018
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost HEAT in 2018 Install zeeman Pro Tools 2018 14 11-23-2019 12:35 PM
2018 | install plugin path? chip_nelson Getting Started 8 03-31-2018 04:37 AM
First Air Instruments Bundle Install fails with Update to PT 2018.1 Wire57 Pro Tools 2018 14 03-29-2018 01:21 PM
PT 2018 all user shortcuts erased on install Cheesehead Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 4 01-30-2018 01:59 PM
tried to update to 2018.1 on win8.1 but HD driver wouldn't install ~ufo~ Pro Tools 2018 1 01-29-2018 07:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com