Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2007, 02:51 PM
tmcentury tmcentury is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1
Default Crash related to Copy/Duplicate and time base settings

I cause a crash every time when I do the following:

1) Make a selection in a playlist. 2) Change the main timebase 3) try to copy or duplicate my selection.

Also setting the timebase to minutes/seconds and the grid base to bars/beats causes the same crash when copying or editing regions. Anything, it seems, which pastes to the edit buffer.

It's driving me crazy on this job because I'm needing to see the length of selections in minutes/seconds, but still needing to work in bars and beats.

I believe this is a bug.

P.T. 7.3.1 cs4
Mac OS 10.4.10
PPC Dual 2.5 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2007, 03:23 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,790
Default Re: Crash related to Copy/Duplicate and time base settings

Can you give any more info on how you're reproducing this? Does it happen in every session?

I've tried what you describe - selecting either a whole region or part of a region, changing the main time base and then duplicating, copying and/or pasting and I can't get it to crash.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2007, 01:51 PM
pablovius pablovius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 65
Default Re: Crash related to Copy/Duplicate and time base settings

I'm getting this too--generally when changing midi playlists--not consistently though--and the session are super lean. This is a bug 4 sure.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2007, 03:44 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 618
Default Re: Crash related to Copy/Duplicate and time base settings

Had this happen with 1 midi track that I imported into a session. When selecting and trying to move the audio i had an instant crash. I rebuilt the session from scratch and had the same results. As soon as I deleted the midi track it was fine. I have had this happen(Very Rare) with AUX tracks being selected with a group of audio as well. I delete prefs and databases daily.
__________________
10.15.7 (19H15) Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2020.11

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2020.5, Apollo 8 Silver,TwinX.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2007, 02:38 PM
Willard Willard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rawlinson End
Posts: 139
Default Re: Crash related to Copy/Duplicate and time base settings

Quote:
Can you give any more info on how you're reproducing this? Does it happen in every session?

I've tried what you describe - selecting either a whole region or part of a region, changing the main time base and then duplicating, copying and/or pasting and I can't get it to crash.
Dear DigiTechSupt. My hope is that you have been assigned to work on this and that we might see a resolution to this "issue" some time in the near future. See my posts below, one just from last week and one from a year ago, that detail exactly this problem.

Copy Paste Problem. Don't Have A Work Around. Could Use One!

7.2cs1 copying timeline/tracks quits off screen

For tmcentury, as described in my post from last week, the only real work around is to first copy and paste the rulers (meters, tempos and markers), then copy and paste one track at a time until you find the offending aux or midi track that is crashing your session. I've found that the more daily culprit is likely to be an aux, I haven't come across bad midi recently, but I would never count it out as an offender. Following one suggestion, I bought some new Ram and am in the process of testing and swapping. We have the problem on both rigs and I put two 1 gb sticks in one machine with no improvement, but I will continue that research in the hope that it really is just bad ram - in both of our rigs!!

How often can you expect it to happen? I'm seeing it in about one in every five sessions. For a while I thought it was moving 6.x to 7.x sessions, but now I think not. It took Digi ten months to isolate and fix the " PT 7.3.1 - Still Features Random Graphic Freezes" issue, once they started work on it. So until we actually receive an acknowledgement that this is actually a problem, I'm not expecting them to be working on it.

Best

Kevin
__________________

Pro Tools 9.0.5 | HD3 PCIe | 192 i/o | C|24
Mac Pro5,1 (mid 2010) Westmere 3.33 GHz Hexacore | 16gb ram | OS X 10.7.4 | VEPro 5.3.13141

Pro Tools 9.0.6 | HD3 PCIx | Apogee Rosetta 200 | Magma PE6R4-I
MacPro5,1 (mid 2010) Westmere 3.33 GHz Hexacore |16gb ram | OS X 10.7.4 | VEPro 5.3.13141
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-16-2008, 02:11 PM
pablovius pablovius is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 65
Default Re: Crash related to Copy/Duplicate and time base settings

..wow, I've been having this issue for ever, and it's killing me! I find that it happens with drag and drop midi regions imported into the session (midi pattern taken from Stylus and BFD, for example). Operations that crash PT include; duplicate, paste, new playlist,etc. Tempo ruler edits as well.

This issue "is not" a problem with recycle generated MIDI or MIdI exported from Reason. It is more prevalent when running BFD and other soft-synths.

i wonder if there is a bug when importing midi regions into a session--perhaps some meta-data in the midi file?
'`
PT HD 7.2
Mac OS 10.4.11
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repeat,Copy,Duplicate Bug? in 7.4 KJones Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-24-2010 02:00 AM
Can Pro Tools run off the Base Copy? pearlywhite 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-28-2006 07:13 PM
Tick base & Time base for MIDI track?? Rodamyot Post - Surround - Video 1 04-25-2005 05:57 AM
AVXL and Time Base Correction Rick Sanchez Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 09-04-2003 01:03 PM
rulers/time base Arno Peeters Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-04-2000 01:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com