Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Old 03-12-2013, 11:33 PM

Default SC48 to PT10 advice urgently needed!

I am going to Austin Friday to record a 11 band SXSW showcase with a few well known acts. There will be a Venue Profile at FOH and an SC48 for monitor mix. I'm not positive which one I'll be connecting to but I think probably the SC48. Although Ive been using ProTools for many years in the studio, I have never done any laptop recording before, nor have I worked with a Venue system.
I got my hands on a pretty recent macbook pro with thunderbolt. I installed PT10.0 for now.
I plan to use the firewire HDx on the SC48 to hopefully get 32 tracks.
here is my list of questions and concerns. any help would be very appreciated.

1. I won't have much time or help setting up the session and connection. it will be mayhem at the show with each act using their own mixer. The house guy will be so busy getting each of them set up that I doubt he'll have much time for me. Ive looked but cannot find a tutorial for setting up the mbp connection and session setup. I need a crash course!

not sure if it matters but keep this in mind for the final 2 questions, I'm doing straight capture only. no plugins will be used. all editing and mixing will be done back at my studio on a real rig.

3. what version of PT10 should I upgrade to for the most stable performance in this setup?

4. I'll need an external hd. after hours of reading, I can't find an answer on the duc for what I should get. I know firewire bus is out because of the SC48. I can't find a straight answer on whether or not thunderbolt is a good option. I'm thinking usb3? I'm confused. I just need something that works.