Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > Buy & Sell

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2019, 12:11 PM
jwilkers jwilkers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Louisville, KY.
Posts: 167
Default How to buy plug-ins

Hi, I am pretty computer savvy but not when it comes to licenses.
If I bought a plug-in, how are licenses transferred?
I know some require iLok and some don't.
I have an iLok2.
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2019, 12:37 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: How to buy plug-ins

What exact version of pro tools do you have? Version number and First? standard? Ultimate?

What plugins are you looking at? From Avid or what vendors... Licensing all differs, most vendors do a reasonable job describing their licensing scheme on their web site. Or are you looking at private sales/used stuff? But again... what exact pro tools and what exact plugins (or at least vendor).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-26-2019 at 05:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2019, 06:40 AM
jwilkers jwilkers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Louisville, KY.
Posts: 167
Default Re: How to buy plug-ins

Sorry,
Latest version of Pro Tools standard.
Was inquiring in general in case I wanted to by used plugs here.
Occasionally I see something I am interested in.
So it seem my question is too vague.
Thanks for the response.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2019, 10:33 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,433
Default Re: How to buy plug-ins

If you are curious to play more with plugins the Avid Complete Plugin bundle may be a place to start and rentable/subscribable for relatively low cost (or is included in some Pro Tools subscriptions). Otherwise if you ask here for recommendations for what you want to do folks can suggest plugins or bundles. Be prepared for some sticker shock

Oh and used plugins... that's a very long story. If Avid plugin you may be better with the Complete Plugin Bundle. For other vendors it exactly depends on how they do licensing, and their transfer policy/process. You also need to understand what plugin version any licenses you would get license you up to, again all vendor/plugin dependent. And for compatibility with your Pro Tools that plugin version(s) needs to be in AAX-64 format. Some advertised here are RTAS and/or TDM.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-30-2019 at 01:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2019, 12:26 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,295
Default Re: How to buy plug-ins

Pro Tools comes with a pretty handy collection of plugins, it has 90 percent of all you'll ever need, I would start using that and then buy improved versions from other manufacturers whenever you feel like one of them isn't doing all you want.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2019, 04:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,863
Default Re: How to buy plug-ins

I've had good experiences with used plugin purchases, but you need to be cautious. For example, if you see something for sale here, but the seller only shows a handful of posts, they have not established themselves here, so I would be reluctant to give them money. When it comes to eBay, a lot of feedback that is 100% positive(or close to that with several hundred sales) shows that the seller is trustworthy.

Another thing to consider is; how is the plugin licensed(and does the company that makes the plugin allow for transfer)? Things are pretty simple with stuff that uses iLok(but that does incur a transfer fee). Beware of plugins that come with an iLok but cannot be transferred. If its a killer deal on something you need, just be aware that it will probably never be able to be upgraded and you may get zero support(in case you're wondering, you CAN connect multiple iLoks from multiple accounts and all licenses will be seen as valid). Authorization codes are a mixed bag(for me) and some(IK Multimedia is one) seem to lose their authorization at the drop of a hat. Example of this; I rotate multiple system drives(newest updates can be tried out without screwing up a good-working rig, and a virus attack is countered by removing the infected drive and cloning over it). Every time I switch drives, my IK plugins need to be authorized again(which frankly, is a PITA). Everything that uses iLok simply works...For all the grief folks heap on iLok, its actually my 2nd favorite after Waves on a USB stick
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Offline Bouncing Mono/Stereo plug-ins not accurate on following plug-ins Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 2018 3 07-16-2018 04:10 AM
Blue Cat's Plug'n Script 3.0 - export your creations as independent VST plug-ins unkJE AAX Plug-ins 4 10-19-2017 08:08 AM
Plug ins Missing (Kontakt, POD Farm) from Pro Tools 10 Plug-in list smythmakesmusic macOS 28 05-13-2017 05:41 AM
Super TDM Plug ins;TC VSS3,Master X,Line 6,Sonic Solutions,Eventide TDM Plug Ins Digitaliz Buy & Sell 3 07-26-2013 05:39 AM
Massey plug ins demo corupted mixer, 'Plug in Racks need reset' amerikiwi VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 09-21-2012 10:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com