Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-2019, 08:59 AM
Jim_Norman Jim_Norman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 14
Default Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

I want to use a compressor on the stereo mix I bounce to disk. Can I insert a compressor in the signal path which is used to bounce to disk or do I have to record to another track first before bouncing to disk? What compressor plugin would you recommend? Can the compressor be iinserted in the Master Fader track?

Thanks for any inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-2019, 09:01 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,108
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

Yes, inserting plugins on Master Fader (post-fader processing) is a standard procedure
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2019, 09:19 AM
Jim_Norman Jim_Norman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 14
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

Will the compressor work properly when bouncing to disk? Do you have a compressor plugin recommendation? I am using Pro Tools 2019.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2019, 09:40 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,108
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

Yes, bouncing will print whatever you are hearing on playback.

Asking for recommendation is like telling medium rare beef tenderloin steak is the best and the other person is veggie. Lots of good compressors out there and the stock compressor isn't bad either.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2019, 11:29 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,300
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

What Janne said ^^ but since you are asking, this is what I use, not too often though:
https://youtu.be/dgkel2sQJK8
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-2019, 11:51 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,662
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
What Janne said ^^ but since you are asking, this is what I use, not too often though:
https://youtu.be/dgkel2sQJK8
I see you used the Waves version; do you think the Lindell 254 from Plugin Alliance would do the same magic? I have the Lindell comp.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-2019, 06:18 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,300
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I see you used the Waves version; do you think the Lindell 254 from Plugin Alliance would do the same magic? I have the Lindell comp.
I haven't compared them but since Lindell plugins are made by LSR Audio which has done quite a few popular analog style plugins and they are also good enough to meet the PIA quality standards I would say if they did the modeling from a real unit and not just guessing from the schematics I don't see why it wouldn't have the magic. If I had to choose without making a comparison I would pick up Waves because I think their models are the most accurate in the market but I also think PIA are as good and reputable so if I had their version I'd just use that for sure
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-10-2019, 06:42 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,662
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagras View Post
I haven't compared them but since Lindell plugins are made by LSR Audio which has done quite a few popular analog style plugins and they are also good enough to meet the PIA quality standards I would say if they did the modeling from a real unit and not just guessing from the schematics I don't see why it wouldn't have the magic. If I had to choose without making a comparison I would pick up Waves because I think their models are the most accurate in the market but I also think PIA are as good and reputable so if I had their version I'd just use that for sure
Thanks for the info - didn't know how much the programmers did.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-10-2019, 06:54 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,108
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

Just ignore this comment if it doesn't suit the conversation, but nowadays I'm kind of thinking what's the point in having a plugin compressor on master fader?

You want a hardware treatment if you are releasing that stuff for money. If you don't have that spice on your rack your ME should have.

With that said, if you just want a quick and dirty get it done kind of compression... throwing in Waves API2500 is pretty close to the real deal.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-11-2019, 10:46 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,591
Default Re: Using a compressor plugin while bouncing to disk

Hi in my case for glue compression i use a few. Yo might want to start playing wih them as they are gonna gave you different "colors". And in some cases the best glue compressor is no compressor.

Well here is my list.

UAD SSL Buss
Logic State Duende SSL Buss
UAD Neeve 33609
Bomb Factory Fairchild 670 (Yes really, and sounds really good)
Waves API2500

This list order doesn't mean anything just wrote them as they came to mind.

Hope this help you a little in your quest too .
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Bouncing to Disk Please skyking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-22-2008 06:15 AM
Bouncing in session first vs. bouncing straight to disk... WATYF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-07-2007 04:17 PM
Compressor plugin's? Edson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 03-21-2007 10:40 AM
Bouncing to disk molehill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-06-2006 08:25 PM
Bouncing to Disk sh336697 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 11-24-2004 01:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com