Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2009, 05:40 AM
polf polf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 114
Default any benefit to using a 64bit OS yet?

Sorry, Im sure this has been discussed but can't quite find the answer
after searching...


I am using XP 32bit with 4GB memory with the profire 2626...and thinking of using a 64bit OS but is it worth it?

working 64bit drivers appear to be available from the M-audio site, but is there any performance improvement regarding the 3GB memory bottleneck?

As I understand it pro-tools will work in a 64bit OS but will operate in 32bit (as will the virtual instruments)...so pro-tools/virtual instruments will still be only using 3GB or whatever's left?

If that's the case then what exactly do we need to be able to utilize over 4GB memory? 64bit pro-tools and instruments?

if that's the case then its gonna be years before this happens Im sure....

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2009, 07:35 AM
jmitchell1532 jmitchell1532 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 764
Default Re: any benefit to using a 64bit OS yet?

No matter how much RAM you have, PT is always going to see 3.xx Gigs of RAM, because PT is not a 64 bit app.
__________________
Jon

HP Pavilion P6000, AMD Athlon II X2 240 (2.8GHz), FOXCONN 2AB1 MoBo, 16GB DDR3, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS, Two WD Caviar Black Internal500 gig, One WD External 300 Gig, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit, SD2, Metal Foundry, Focusrite Saffire 6, PT 9.03 (stable), Gibson Les Paul Studio (Drop D), Fender Tele (nashville tuning), hand built Carvin Bolt (finished!)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2009, 08:47 AM
polf polf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 114
Default Re: any benefit to using a 64bit OS yet?

thanks for the reply,

that's what i thought..... i can't see a 64bit version for quite a while....

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2009, 08:56 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,700
Default Re: any benefit to using a 64bit OS yet?

Just to clear up some of the mystery regarding 64 bit - there is only one case where it will make any significant difference and that's when someone needs to use more than 4GB of RAM (the amount currently addressable by a 32 bit app/OS).

It will not make anything sound significantly better.

It will not make apps more stable or run better.

It will not, in short, improve things in any significant way, except in the case of RAM.

There is far too much hype going on about 64 bit systems that's simply not true, or at least not true to the degree that people are making them out to be.

Don't fall prey to the hype machine.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2009, 10:17 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: any benefit to using a 64bit OS yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Don't fall prey to the hype machine.
Jeez, you have the kill the fun for everyone, don't you! :)
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2009, 10:55 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,700
Default Re: any benefit to using a 64bit OS yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by getz76 View Post
Jeez, you have the kill the fun for everyone, don't you! :)
It's in my job description - 'fun killer'.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2009, 11:36 AM
polf polf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 114
Default Re: any benefit to using a 64bit OS yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Just to clear up some of the mystery regarding 64 bit - there is only one case where it will make any significant difference and that's when someone needs to use more than 4GB of RAM (the amount currently addressable by a 32 bit app/OS).

well exactly, and doesn't everyone need more than 4GB with all these new virtual instruments we use?

this is the reason why we are all eager to use a 64bit pro-tools..

..actually, do Mac users have this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2009, 06:54 PM
jcc449 jcc449 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: any benefit to using a 64bit OS yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Just to clear up some of the mystery regarding 64 bit - there is only one case where it will make any significant difference and that's when someone needs to use more than 4GB of RAM (the amount currently addressable by a 32 bit app/OS).
DIGI Tech Supt must run things with ProTool HD3 PCIe+192 I/O.
That's why 64 bits make no differences to him...
but for most of poor people who run things with LE...RAM power is everything
(Otherwise this "memory is too low please bypass some plugins" message will keep popping out) - even i am running LE with Intel Mac Pro Quad 3Ghz..
And the crazy amount of latency......
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-02-2009, 02:34 AM
polf polf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 114
Default Re: any benefit to using a 64bit OS yet?

well i did wonder when this was said:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
It will not make apps more stable or run better.
because I too get messages such as "Pro-tools is critically low on memory"

so if I suddenly had 16GB available then surely my system would be more stable.....?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-02-2009, 08:14 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,700
Default Re: any benefit to using a 64bit OS yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcc449 View Post
DIGI Tech Supt must run things with ProTool HD3 PCIe+192 I/O.
That's why 64 bits make no differences to him...
but for most of poor people who run things with LE...RAM power is everything
(Otherwise this "memory is too low please bypass some plugins" message will keep popping out) - even i am running LE with Intel Mac Pro Quad 3Ghz..
And the crazy amount of latency......
Uh, hate to say it, but I run HD, LE, Logic, etc.

I know the difference. To post something like this is just stirring up the pot.

Re-read what I wrote - I specifically state that the ONLY case where 64 bit truly matters is RAM. Think on that for a minute - why would I write it unless I knew specifically what it related to?

Now as for 'everyone' needing more RAM - while there may be a LOT of people that need it, it certainly isn't everyone. At least, not to the point that that simply cannot work.

What I'm trying to avert is the nonsense about 64 bit being 'better sounding' or giving any real advantage other than RAM.

Now that it's clear about what I'm saying (and what I use, etc.), feel free to carry on...
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Thunderbolt-2 benefit HDX? Rubicon Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 12 06-12-2013 03:36 PM
Benefit Of Using Win 7 64 bit and More RAM? dougdude9 Windows 18 06-19-2012 12:39 AM
what benefit going from 8.0 to 8.04 on xp latiffee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 07-09-2010 05:55 AM
Is there a benefit going from 8.0cs3 to 8.03 cs2 latiffee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 31 04-05-2010 03:02 PM
Benefit of SuperClock? Corey Shay Tips & Tricks 17 12-13-2000 04:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com