How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-09-2020, 02:01 AM

Default Stereo mixing

Hi all.

I get the feeling I'll get shot down here, but I'll give it a try anyway.
Bearing in mind, I am a complete amateur when it comes to this stuff.
I have owned a Tascam cassette mixer, a Roland zip drive mixer (still have that), and now I bought an M-audio air 192-6, which came with Pro tools first.
This question is about when I mix out or final mix if you like.
Let's say I start a project and record simply a guitar channel and a vocal channel through my M-Audio, I set a mono channel for each. when I have finished, I can add a master to control a few things and clean the track up with an EQ etc. but the balance will only act as a volume. EG; I scroll it left and I'll get full volume, as I scroll bast top dead centre to the right, the volume goes down.
So what is the best practice to output a stereo mix and can someone point me to a very easy step-by-step guide to do this.
I know there is a lot more to it, because I've come accross this before on my Tascam many, many years ago and managed to master that, never had the issue with my Roland, but with pro tools first, I'm getting a little muddled here.
Thank you.
Si
Old 06-09-2020, 02:05 AM

Default Re: Stereo mixing

Hi, welcome to the community.

Mixing is an art you need to learn by yourself. Youtube is full of tutorials regarding vocals, guitars, drum kit, etc... just pic a topic you are interested and try it out with your own material.

But this much I can say: stereo mix has a holy trinity of L, C, and R and you should learn to take advantage of those. And whtever you do your stuff should still sound good as mono.
Old 06-09-2020, 02:11 AM