Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2003, 02:20 PM
Rusty G. Rusty G. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 37
Default Buying plug ins/software off ebay

I've been thinking of scooping up some new plug ins for my Mix Plus system. I'm running a G4 and the keyboard to computer connection is via USB Port. . .not the ABD. Thus, I can't connect the ABD dongle between the keyboard and the computer. Has anybody here run into that problem or heard about it?

What did you guys do to be able to load and/or run the software?

Thanks,
Rusty G.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2003, 02:40 PM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Buying plug ins/software off ebay

What plug-ins are you buying that require an ADB dongle? Waves?

If that's the case, I'd be very hesitant to buy a waves dongle from somebody. You were able to upgrade from that version (I believe 2.8.1 was the last to use the dongle) to 3.0 that used challenge/response, but you didn't have to return the dongle to waves. The person you'd be buying it from may have upgraded and are illegally selling that dongle and you'd never be able to upgrade or update from that product.

Now that being said, when Macs went to usb instead of ADB, griffin made this so we could all keep working. Good luck.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2003, 04:12 PM
Peter Duemmler Peter Duemmler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Neuwied, Germany
Posts: 774
Default Re: Buying plug ins/software off ebay

I don´t think that Waves was/is against selling a version 2.8 package even it it was updated to 3.0 by the owner.
The package just won´t be updatable again by the buyer.

Peter
__________________
http://www.merlinsound.de
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2003, 09:34 PM
Natural Sound Natural Sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 695
Default Re: Buying plug ins/software off ebay

In most cases you don't even need to get the product from the seller. What you really want is for the seller to transfer ownership to you.
You need to ck with the manufacturer as to what is needed. Usually it's a form that can be filled out by both of you.and/or a product code number. Once done, you simply pay the manufacturer whatever it takes to upgrade the product to the current version.(or to a version that is compatible with your system) In the case of all digi sponsered stuff (digirack,focusrtie, ampfarm, etc) I believe the upgrades are free. You just need the magic word, download the current demo (demo's usually turn into real products with the proper codes) and you're off and running
__________________
Thomas Anthony
Natural Sound
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2003, 01:53 PM
GKB GKB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 71
Default Re: Buying plug ins/software off ebay

g-port i think, griffin.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use caution when buying on Ebay Emcha_audio Pro Tools 10 5 05-29-2013 03:19 PM
Buying a used M-Box on Ebay pjanocha 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-26-2007 02:56 PM
Buying Pro Tools on eBay scottkchurch Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 06-12-2004 04:59 PM
OT - Buying PT 6.1 on eBay help. vocalvoodoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 12-28-2003 09:04 PM
buying from ebay bozabus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-03-2002 02:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com