Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2009, 09:24 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,547
Default 002 firmware issue

Hello all. I have my old AMD X2 4400 system with a Digi002 on it. It was working with Mbox perfectly. I attached the 002 and it asked me to update the firmware. After running the update, I proceeded to create a new session and record without issue for a few hours. Once I shut down and cam back, the 002 faders all go up and then slam down to the bottom and stay there. The display says "Digi 002" and "Standby" and will not function. If I try to enter standalone mode, it goes in for a few seconds and then reverts to Standby again. I have tried the firmware hard reset by holding REC+DISPLAY+ESC and it gives the correct messages "Validating..." Loading..." and "Restoring Defaults...." but then reverts to Standby. I was running PT7.1. I have tried installing 7.4 and PT8 with no luck and no request for frmware updates. Anyone have any ideas?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2009, 10:04 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,547
Default Re: 002 firmware issue

Followup. I rebooted and attached a Digi002 rack I keep for backup and that worked fine with no issue and no request for firmware change. So I shut down PT and swapped cables over to the 002 mixer and now it is working. A real had-scratcher. Next thing is a complete shutdown and reopen everything and see what happens.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-17-2009, 12:32 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,523
Default Re: 002 firmware issue

Good luck.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2009, 12:24 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,547
Default Re: 002 firmware issue

The last chapter of this one may save others the same headache. Turns out, the solution was to reseat the power harness. Sounds odd I know, but that's what fixed it. 002 owners, remember this; anytime you have a new problem, reseat the harness before spending any time messing with software, uninstalls and the like.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2009, 01:11 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: 002 firmware issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
The last chapter of this one may save others the same headache. Turns out, the solution was to reseat the power harness. Sounds odd I know, but that's what fixed it. 002 owners, remember this; anytime you have a new problem, reseat the harness before spending any time messing with software, uninstalls and the like.

They should had a key command for this like holding down POWER+MUTE+ESC.

It's a joke.....
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2009, 01:19 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,547
Default Re: 002 firmware issue

Amen!!

BTW, if you ever disconnect your internal audio drive and it is not found when reconnected, Right-click on MyComputer and select Manage, then click on Disk Management. You will likely see your audio drive there but it may have no drive letter assigned to it(this is why it won't appear under <MyComputer). Simply assign a letter and you will be back to work(this one had me pulling my hair aout).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 003 firmware issue apples 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-06-2012 04:58 AM
Command 8 Firmware issue Sixstringer7 ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 11-18-2009 08:11 PM
Mbox 2 Firmware v1.43 - DAT Issue Fix Avid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-20-2006 03:32 PM
Mbox 2 Firmware v1.43 - DAT Issue Fix Avid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-16-2006 08:00 PM
Digi002 Firmware update issue _ron 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-03-2005 04:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com