Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2018, 01:08 AM
tobbelito tobbelito is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: 9/10 Soi Sirirat, Patong, Kathu
Posts: 16
Default CPU spikes like crazy

OsX 10.13.4
Protools 2018.10.0
Motu 112D
New Mac Mini with SSD
64 samples buffer

I have one stereo track, one mono track, one delay and one reverb on.

I get insane amount of CPU errors and spikes and clicks while recording. And playback is really poor to.

See video.
Did I miss something to setup? Obviously the graphics eats upp ALL the dsp... wtf?

https://www.dropbox.com/s/b7jui2zzfy...35837.mp4?dl=0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2018, 02:05 AM
tobbelito tobbelito is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: 9/10 Soi Sirirat, Patong, Kathu
Posts: 16
Default Re: CPU spikes like crazy

https://www.avid.com/search#q=AAE%20...sort=relevancy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2018, 04:33 AM
toolz toolz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: uk
Posts: 189
Default Re: CPU spikes like crazy

Updating to 10.13.6 fixed this exact issue for me.
__________________
[B][SIZE="1"]System:
PT 12.8.1 HD-Native PCIe, 48 I/O 16x16, 2012 Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz 64gig RAM, UAD Quad FW, Apple 30” Cinema
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2018, 04:42 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: CPU spikes like crazy

Put buffer to 128.

I still have to have it at that, even with 10.13.6 on an imac pro. (I decided last night to install Pro Tools 2018.10, even though I thought i was not going to install pro tools at all on this machine).

Spikes and uneven cpu usage, 128 buffer and everything behaves like it should (like other daws, logic for example).

I just have too many PT projects to finish and doing them on the imac pro's screen will be much easier than finishing them on laptop. So I installed it one last time..
However, 2018.10 still full of bugs.

Note... I use UA Apollo's, which have an extremely low output latency, even at 128 buffer. Someone once told me (a guru), it's not actually the buffer block size selection that affects performance but how low the latency actually is.

For example, an interface full of safety buffers that might have 10ms latency at 32 samples, will perform better than an interface that has 8ms of latency at 128 samples.

pro tools is extremely strange in this regard and unlike *any* other DAW i have ever used.. It's as if, even if the latency was 100ms, it's got bad code in it that freaks out under 128 buffer (for record armed audio tracks and Vi's.. playback tracks are fine, but as I see, the OP is trying to record).

The fact that Avid won't certify even 2018.10 on 10.13.6 says something too. They *know* there are issues.
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12.4 CPU spikes with W10 Drywsef Pro Tools 12 12 09-07-2017 12:54 PM
Spikes - what are they? Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 12-14-2011 04:01 PM
What usually causes CPU spikes? JonnyGinese 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-25-2010 05:47 PM
A CRAZY, CRAZY MOMENT WITH MY C24 quanahtx ICON & C|24 4 05-26-2008 03:59 PM
Uh Oh, spikes ajazzie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 08-19-2002 11:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com