Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2009, 11:26 AM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,083
Default Autotune 5 and the latest greatest PT 8

Is anyone using Autotune 5 and the latest greatest version of PTHD 8? I'd hate to update to Evo, as I use Melodyne most of the time. But I'd like to dip my feet into PT8. And I'd hate to drop another $179 for something when 5 works fine in every day use.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2009, 12:22 PM
jrmintz jrmintz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pound Ridge, NY
Posts: 69
Default Re: Autotune 5 and the latest greatest PT 8

Yes, I'm using it with 8.0.3 and it seems to be fine in automatic mode but graphic mode doesn't seem to be working correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2009, 01:44 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,052
Default Re: Autotune 5 and the latest greatest PT 8

I only use Melodyne and it works great in 8. Can't imagine using Autotune in automatic mode because of graphic mode not working properly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2009, 02:15 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,555
Default Re: Autotune 5 and the latest greatest PT 8

I'd at least Demo EVO, you have nothing to lose. It's a nice update. It def sounds better than Melodyne (by a hair) but I still do prefer Melodyne's workflow. I was in a similar situation and bit the bullet and did the upgrade. There are times when one works better than the other.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:27 PM
songman songman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 691
Default Re: Autotune 5 and the latest greatest PT 8

To me Melodyne Editor in PT 8 works perfectly and is unbeatable. It comes with the Studio bundle.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:32 PM
brianjanthony's Avatar
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,083
Default Re: Autotune 5 and the latest greatest PT 8

I use Melodyne for most everything I do. But I have a ton of Gospel and Pop sessions where its a lot easier to drop 20 Autotunes on the group vocals than deal with hand tuning everything. I have a lot of old sessions that have AT 5 on them. I don't plan on using Evo for anything other than an automatic, don't think about it pitch helper. AT5 does that just fine for me If I want to edit, I use Melodyne.

That's why anything they really upgrade on AT is kinda of no interest to me. Other than "will it crash my session."
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2009, 01:51 PM
Jeff E Jeff E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aptos California
Posts: 177
Default Re: Autotune 5 and the latest greatest PT 8

Im with Brian on this one. If Im doing layer over layer of BGV there is not time to tune each little nuance in Melodyn and nothing else does what AT does in Auto mode for a temp fix. Not to mention when someone's sister or cousin is going to "sing" and you just want them to finish so you can really fix it after they leave.. Not that i'd ever do that :)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2009, 09:05 AM
Mark Dann Mark Dann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: NYC, USA
Posts: 762
Default Re: Autotune 5 and the latest greatest PT 8

AT5 works fine in auto mode in PT8. I never use manual mode anymore, as I use Waves Tune for that. I hate Evo because of the massive delay, so even though I have it, I never, ever use it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2009, 10:59 AM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,862
Default Re: Autotune 5 and the latest greatest PT 8

Just upgraded to Evo from AT5. Antares had a deal I couldn't refuse. Through today the upgrade from Auto-Tune 5 to Evo is $59 (normally $129).
__________________
Third Eye Studios.org
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2009, 01:22 PM
jpoprock jpoprock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 730
Default Re: Autotune 5 and the latest greatest PT 8

I just posted a new thread about this upgrade being worth it, only because nothing here was clear cut. For $59, it seems like a good deal. But this business about Graphical mode not working (I use 7.4), scares me! That's the only way to go for me. So, I'm not sure if it's worth the upgrade, even at $59. Anyone?

Jason
__________________
Leo 10.5.7
PTLE 7.4.2, 002r, Micro
iMac G5 2.33ghz Core Duo Intel
OWC External FW HDD
http://www.soundclick.com/jasonsheroan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Greatest rikttt Virtual Instruments 10 10-14-2009 03:53 PM
System crash with latest Autotune 4.3.8 maxdamien Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-05-2006 02:24 AM
6.7 The latest and greatest? Ryan Potteiger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-13-2004 08:23 AM
Latest & Greatest Toy NeeDLE Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 02-20-2004 05:58 PM
getting audio hard drive-latest and greatest? nightshadecrisis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 01-22-2004 12:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com