Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 01-17-2016, 07:02 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 959
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Smith View Post
These are really, really great. Thanks so much for sharing them.

Any chance you could share the script commands to close the AudioSuite window? I'm trying to create a script that will loop through and close all the audiosuite plugins open, not just the one. Do you know if this is possible?
Yes, possible.

Code:
activate application "Pro Tools"
tell application "System Events"
	tell process "Pro Tools"
		tell (every window whose name contains "Audio Suite") to click button 1 -- Close button
	end tell
end tell

I’ll add this as a separate script to the upcoming Vol. 2 package, released to be sometime soon. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 01-17-2016, 08:44 AM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliver m View Post
i’ll add this as a separate script to the upcoming vol. 2 package, released to be sometime soon. ;-)
thank you :)
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-17-2016, 11:18 PM
Dan Smith's Avatar
Dan Smith Dan Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Ah! I was close. Thanks very much!
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02-11-2016, 09:44 AM
lpbrac lpbrac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: San Jose
Posts: 4
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Hi Oliver,

My questions is not so much related to your automation scripts per say, as I am rather looking to understand how such automation is done (I need to drive Pro Tools in an automated fashion for plugin testing purpose).

I was hoping to being able to learn from the script you had written but it seems that they are "run only", so I was wondering if you would be so kind on pointing me to the source code, but if you are not willing to do so (I understand), then if you had some pointers for me to get started.

Thanking you in advance.

/Laurent
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02-11-2016, 10:24 AM
Dan Smith's Avatar
Dan Smith Dan Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Hey Oliver the Audiosuite window closing macro is working perfectly. It's awesome. Thanks again.

The ONE macro, process, work flow I'm trying to figure out that would make a huge difference for me, is how to quickly and easily toggle trim automation on a track. At home, I have a 003 and I have all the automation modes at my fingers. But it doesn't have trim. That's one of the few things I have to do with a mouse when mixing. I hate it. On any other bigger surface like the Icons or S6 I can easily flip on and off trim. I use it a lot. But I tend not to use it when I'm at home because it is so cumbersome.

I have Keyboard Maestro and I've done it a few ways; for example by showing only the selected track and then using mouse movements. But it is very slow. Any ideas?

Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 02-16-2016, 03:50 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 959
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpbrac View Post
Hi Oliver,

My questions is not so much related to your automation scripts per say, as I am rather looking to understand how such automation is done (I need to drive Pro Tools in an automated fashion for plugin testing purpose).

I was hoping to being able to learn from the script you had written but it seems that they are "run only", so I was wondering if you would be so kind on pointing me to the source code, but if you are not willing to do so (I understand), then if you had some pointers for me to get started.

Thanking you in advance.

/Laurent
I am afraid I do not understand what you are after. Can you be more specific? Please, describe in detail what you are trying to achieve.

As far as source code sharing is concerned, I thought I made myself clear within this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 02-16-2016, 03:52 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 959
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Smith View Post
Hey Oliver .... Any ideas?
Probably, sounds like a custom job.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 02-16-2016, 04:36 PM
lpbrac lpbrac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: San Jose
Posts: 4
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
I am afraid I do not understand what you are after. Can you be more specific? Please, describe in detail what you are trying to achieve.

As far as source code sharing is concerned, I thought I made myself clear within this thread.
I had missed that one bit
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
No, sorry. ;-)
That's fine. I will figure it out on my own. I was looking for some pointers. What I need to do is outside of what those scripts do (i.e. controlling some special plugins)

Thanks anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 02-16-2016, 06:32 PM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Hi Oliver M,

I want to thank you again for your patience in point me the right direction on learning the basics and give me nice tips of Applescript to accomplish my needs.

This is part of what I've made. It's still in progress and it's so NEWBIE, but it's a start.

What the Applescript is doing is this:
- Open Track List and show all tracks
- Select all tracks and timeline and put a start point at 00:02:00:00
- Open Memory Locations and delete all memory locations
- Open I/O setup and change the name of the Bus Output to VO_MIX
- Open Bounce, change sample rate to 48kHz, get the name of the session, paste it on the name of the bounce, select import after bounce and offline bounce.

Check the video here

Thank you so much Oliver

ps: this is just a part of the applescript, I have it broken in some parts, I didn't manage yet how to not get the timeout error (the limitation of 2 minutes).

Regards,
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 02-16-2016, 08:07 PM
Macsearcher Macsearcher is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 194
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Hi Oliver, Fist off, thanks so much for making these scripts. They are really handy and I know how much work goes into making them.
I am wondering if you could clarify a quick point for me?
I am not seeing any way to have the sub-folders not be created for track presets. As it stands, everything is put into a sub-folder when I invoke the script. I am on El Capitain BTW and I am using Default Folder X.
Also, I am not seeing the pop-up dialogs that show in your examples. i.e'Track Presets _____ saved'
Thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12 Trim Automation bleu@cheerful.com Pro Tools 12 2 08-16-2015 04:25 AM
Pro Tools 11.2.1 Automation Bug?! Gneal550 Pro Tools 11 1 11-22-2014 01:15 PM
GRM tools automation bug? D'Animation Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-08-2014 08:21 AM
scripting Pro Tools; automation Bermaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 10-01-2004 12:38 PM
AppleScripts and other Macros for PT Bergeron Tips & Tricks 1 11-15-1999 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com