Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Dock

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2018, 04:35 PM
Mattian Mattian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: World
Posts: 62
Default Will iPad 2 work with the dock?

Hello, i've seen it runs os 9, so it works, right?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2018, 08:46 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: Will iPad 2 work with the dock?

Yeah. It works since it supports iOS 9.

I'd be worried for the future, though, if your iPad doesn't support iOS 11 now. There may be a moment soon where Apple imposes new rules for apps so you won't be able to get the latest Control App (though older versions always continue to still run if you've already "bought" it from the store)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Yesterday, 02:24 PM
Mattian Mattian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: World
Posts: 62
Default Re: Will iPad 2 work with the dock?

Yeah... but i’m not planning upgrading software soon... last time it was 4 years ago and it wasn’t necessary, but I had to install pro tools 10 because I upgraded the computer, so pro Tools 9 didn’t run... pro tools 2018 on High Sierra 10.13.6, works perfectly, so... I don’t think will be needed to upgrade anytime soon...
Probably i’ll Do another 5 years or more, on that setup, unless there’s some tempting reason to do it 😉
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Yesterday, 02:25 PM
Mattian Mattian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: World
Posts: 62
Default Re: Will iPad 2 work with the dock?

Oh no yeah... I want mojave because of the dark mode... feels inspiring... so probably that’s where i’ll Stop... do you think avid will kill os 9 support with Mojave’s?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Yesterday, 05:41 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,061
Default Re: Will iPad 2 work with the dock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattian View Post
Stop... do you think avid will kill os 9 support with Mojave’s?
It's up to Avid AND Apple.

Apple did it before where they stopped accepting versions of apps that supported older iOS versions. And then you are stuck on whatever was last released.

Which means no fixes/additions -- Eucon is free and doesn't have to be "locked" to a Pro Tools version. You could have an old Pro Tools version and run the latest Eucon and get the benefits/fixes of the latest Eucon. The Control App and the Eucon version you are running, though, have to match up.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.7, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Pro 10.5 and PT Dock roland@alpharecords Pro Tools | Dock 18 02-21-2018 09:22 PM
Best iPad for the dock? Brandonx1 Pro Tools | Dock 7 11-05-2016 04:51 AM
which Ipad for the Dock... TrackerLe Pro Tools | Dock 6 09-05-2016 03:45 AM
Dock or iPad Pro SOUNDDECISION Pro Tools | Control 1 05-16-2016 09:19 AM
Dock with iPad mini LukeHoward Pro Tools | Dock 2 03-08-2016 03:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com