Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 09-28-2020, 09:28 AM
gandlz gandlz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 59
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

I'm on Pro Tools 10 but just looked into 2020.9 reference guide. Could not see any changes. Only hardware insert delay can be set but that's not what this thread is about.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 09-28-2020, 09:31 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

So please enlighten me then, what is the problem? If you have a CA or ASIO interface that reports latency to PT which compensates... if you have Avid interface that is compensated automatically... If you have 3rd party box you can set manual offset.. What am I missing here?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 09-28-2020, 09:47 AM
gandlz gandlz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 59
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

When setting „ Compensate for (input/output) Delays After Record Pass” Pro Tools cannot do this correctly as long as it does not know how many samples external converters need for conversion.
This only works when using the 192 I/O for AD- and DA-conversion because Pro Tools knows the time the 192 I/O needs. But when using external converters connected via AES or ADAT to the 192 I/O your clips will be wrong placed in timeline according to my example a few posts before.

For native: The ASIO/Core-Audio driver tells Pro Tools its conversion latency only for AD-DA conversion done by the audio interface. But most interfaces have also ADAT or AES (like the 192 I/O) to connect to external converters and the driver has now idea about how long they need for conversion.

you say: If you have 3rd party box you can set manual offset
where? I also have RME USB-Interface and the driver tells correct latency. So RME DA recorded to AD is perfectly aligned it timeline with the source. But wrong when input is ADAT through external converter and more wrong if output is also ADAT with external converter.

In every case you end up with clips placed wrong in timeline and I’m pretty sure this is also the case with the most recent hardware like MTRX if you use AD-DA cards together with AES external converters. Please test it!
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 09-28-2020, 09:54 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

Well, PT can only compensate for know things like Avid's interfaces and the user input of additional compensation. If you need to use external AD/DA conversion you need to put in that compensation value manually (and it may be different per sampling rate).
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 09-28-2020, 10:01 AM
gandlz gandlz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austria
Posts: 59
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

Well, I don’t blame Avid for not knowing things they cannot know. I can measure it and tell it but where???

If you think about the manual compensation value that can be set in the mixer on every channel, I have to tell you that this does not work. It makes it possible to listen to your first take phase accurate (while first take clips are still placed wrong in timeline) but your overdub will be late by the highest value you add in one of those track delays.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! Bouncing-in-place by recording to new audio tracks - delay comp problem johnnybigmoose Pro Tools 9 9 12-31-2012 01:36 AM
PT 10.0.0 HD Native Automation Problem with Delay Comp Chris Trent macOS 5 01-07-2012 03:04 AM
Delay Comp problems again, Delay comp is RED but way below limits. soundeq Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 11-29-2011 12:01 PM
since cs3 intermittent UAD/Wrapped plugs delay comp problem crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 06-16-2009 09:12 AM
Problem with Delay Comp. and not enough DSP/Time slots... storm-01 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-16-2007 01:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com