Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-08-2007, 08:01 AM

Default 003 Whats the point?!!!

Ok a 003 is a good idea and all the advancements they've made are wonderful blah blah blah. i am a producer and was anxious about the 003 for personal use then i noticed something.... What is the point of Two headphone Jacks on the front that is just silly, they only application that is good for is in a learning enviroment such as the trade school i went to. So the teacher can listen in. (9 times out of 10 we have these things called monitors!) I was really let down with this product and am going to stick with my 002 because i dont see the use in upgrading. (if thats what you can call it) the 003 is useless. When i innitially saw the 003 i thought one of the Jacks was a Line/Ins Jack and was very excited, i thought to myself Wow AVID/Digi finally realized that having to get to the back of your interface anytime you want to plug in is redundant and stupid. ESPECIALLY with Rack mounted interfaces!!! But no i was severely let down and am led to believe that Digi doesnt know their client base, i mean as easy and nit picky is that is....a Line/Ins Jack in the front...i'm an engineering genius. PS if they come out with that someone owes me money! 003 is junk and serves no greater function than its predicessors. Its funny cause i mentioned this to a former colleague of mine who actually works for Digi's software design and he agreed. so take that.

Love,

Glenn

Florida.
Old 03-08-2007, 08:11 AM

Default Re: 003 Whats the point?!!!

Welcome to the DUC. Most people prefer having jacks on the back of rack mount gear to reduce visible cable clutter. Just wire it up to a patchbay.