Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2012, 12:44 PM
anonymoushelpme anonymoushelpme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1
Default Writing midi before bar 1

Hello,

How is everyone doing?

Are there any experts out there that know why Pro Tools 9 won't let me write a midi note before bar 1?

I am rewiring Reason with Pro tools.

Thank you very much!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2012, 02:57 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,833
Default Re: Writing midi before bar 1

Since bar 1 is the start of the time line, how can anything be written earlier?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2012, 03:14 PM
lexaudio lexaudio is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: Writing midi before bar 1

Some apps let you create negative bars. I think Cubase allows you to start like that.

Often I'd start at -2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2012, 03:32 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,199
Default Re: Writing midi before bar 1

Just re-number the bars.

You can use "re-number bars" function or "identify beat" function to change bar 1 to bar -1 giving you two extra bars before the original bar 1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Writing automation without deleting MIDI notes lostsherb88 Virtual Instruments 1 11-28-2011 05:32 PM
Writing a MIDI Plug-In Cro MIDI 3 01-05-2008 10:15 AM
midi writing in "staff" view (stave) shutiri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 05-16-2007 06:16 PM
Question on writing volume fades on Midi tracks... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-08-2004 10:42 AM
writing plugin automation with remote MIDI controller pcl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-16-2003 12:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com