Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2018, 12:29 PM
ncsaxman ncsaxman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 5
Default No sound from record enabled track when low latency monitoring is enabled

I just did the upgrade from PT10 to PT12. I am using the Digi 003R/profire 2626 as my interface and currently still using Windows 7.

When using PT10 I could enable low latency monitoring when recording and everything worked fine. I could hear all previously recorded tracks and the track I was recording with no latency.

After upgrading to the "better" PT12, there is no sound from the record enabled track when low latency monitoring is enabled.

Any idea what's going on?

Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2018, 12:39 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,175
Default Re: No sound from record enabled track when low latency monitoring is enabled

Do you have "Mute Record-Armed Tracks while Stopped" enabled?

Help Us Help You
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2018, 12:42 PM
ncsaxman ncsaxman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: No sound from record enabled track when low latency monitoring is enabled

No...there is no sound even when running.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2018, 01:15 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,679
Default Re: No sound from record enabled track when low latency monitoring is enabled

Quote:
Originally Posted by ncsaxman View Post
No...there is no sound even when running.
is your track in input mode !!
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2018, 04:32 PM
ncsaxman ncsaxman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: No sound from record enabled track when low latency monitoring is enabled

Yeah......I'm pretty sure all usual steps have been taken.

When I disable low latency monitoring, I can hear the record enabled track. Everything is fine except for the latency on the audio.

When I enable LLM, all meters are reacting just as if there is a signal coming through, there is just no actual audio coming from the record enabled track. It's like LLM mutes the output signal on just that track.

I would love it to be something simple like operator error. Just a setting I missed.

Please....keep throwing ideas at me and hopefully something will work.

Thanks for the suggestions thus far.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2018, 04:40 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: No sound from record enabled track when low latency monitoring is enabled

Quote:
Originally Posted by ncsaxman View Post
Yeah......I'm pretty sure all usual steps have been taken.

When I disable low latency monitoring, I can hear the record enabled track. Everything is fine except for the latency on the audio.

When I enable LLM, all meters are reacting just as if there is a signal coming through, there is just no actual audio coming from the record enabled track. It's like LLM mutes the output signal on just that track.

I would love it to be something simple like operator error. Just a setting I missed.

Please....keep throwing ideas at me and hopefully something will work.

Thanks for the suggestions thus far.
Is your track assigned directly to an output?

What's your playback engine?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2018, 05:10 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,510
Default Re: No sound from record enabled track when low latency monitoring is enabled

LLM only works on outputs 1+2.

Do you have the outputs on the tracks you can’t hear set to alternate outputs?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-21-2018, 05:45 PM
ncsaxman ncsaxman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: No sound from record enabled track when low latency monitoring is enabled

Playback engine is ASIO Digidesign Driver FW003

All track outputs are routed to Analog 1 & 2

(Analog 1-2 Stereo -> FW 003 Analog Out 1-2)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2018, 05:52 PM
lectrohowie lectrohowie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 29
Default Re: No sound from record enabled track when low latency monitoring is enabled

I'm experiencing the exact same thing only intermittently. Sometimes it works as expected and most of the time not. I also checked the aforementioned settings (it was fine in PT10) to be sure, but everything checks out. I'm actually beginning to think that it's an issue with the 003. Seems to me that the switching actually must take place there, not in Pro Tools. 003 is quite old. I don't think it's an actual physical relay that does the switching, but some chip that might be failing is a possibility.

On the other hand, I'm also looking at it as a possible plus. Because I use an analog mixer as a front end, I can send a mic signal direct from an input channel for direct, low latency monitoring and then play back the track during a punch in and have the track mute as soon as I hit record, thereby avoiding double monitoring the signal.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2018, 01:54 PM
ncsaxman ncsaxman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: No sound from record enabled track when low latency monitoring is enabled

Okay......I may have found the issue.

If I am not mistaken, with PT8LE the audio drivers were included in the actual PT installation process.

After PT8LE, you had to download the appropriate audio drivers for the version of PT you were using and the interface. When I installed PT12, I didn't upgrade my 003 audio drivers.

I was searching around and ended up on the Avid audio drivers site and found this:

Avid Knowledge Base
Digi 002 and 003 Drivers

Version 9.0.8

Windows 7, 8, 8.1 & Windows 10

Support for Pro Tools 10.3 - 12.5 with 003 Rack

Fixed: Enabling LLM mutes Input Signal on 003 Rack

Digi 002 Rack not supported (untested)

My drivers were much earlier versions. I uninstalled my drivers and installed the updated drivers and now LLM works for me.

When I enable LLM, my record enabled track volume goes down a bit, but I just group all previously recorded tracks, lower the volume of them a bit and increase the volume of my record enabled track. And Voila! No latency.

Thanks to all of you who gave suggestions!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't hear audio on record-enabled track with 'Low Latency Monitoring' selected EricWillhelm Pro Tools 10 6 01-10-2015 12:34 AM
MASSIVE CLIPPING/HISSING SOUND from record enabled instrument line in track surferdeac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-09-2012 06:15 AM
ADC Audible Latency When ANY Instrument Track Is Record Enabled Intransit Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 09-15-2011 03:07 AM
No sound from track while it's record enabled. Fryder 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-12-2010 09:24 AM
Buzzing Sound When Track Record Enabled Rushmore 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-16-2007 04:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com