Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2004, 12:55 PM
jepmus jepmus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 90
Default Will Digi officially support 10.3.6?

I have a first generation 2.0 ghz G5, currently running OS 10.3.5 ... With Quartz Extreme disabled, my Accel system is running pretty smoothly. It appears [from the Apple Discussion Boards] that 10.3.6 MAY have solved the freeze issues that plagued many users .
I'd like to install 10.3.6, and re-enable Quartz Extreme ... does anyone know if Digi plans to qualify 10.3.6, or will it be passed over ;if "yes", is qualification expected soon, or at "some time in the future".
thanks,
jep
__________________
PT HDX - PT 12.5.2
Mac Pro Trash Can 3.5 ghz 6 core - - 64 GB RAM - - OS 10.11.5 - - HD/IO with A/D Expansion
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2004, 06:59 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: Will Digi officially support 10.3.6?

I think a lot of people are already using 10.3.6. It's working fine for me. If there were problems with 10.3.6, you'd be reading a lot about them here.

In short, it's probably safe. Take a risk and try it. You can always limp back to 10.3.5.

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2004, 06:04 AM
Mark Reis Mark Reis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 386
Default Re: Will Digi officially support 10.3.6?

We have a mix system and an HD system running 10.3.6. Both use a Dazzle video converter on the firewire port. Both have corrupt FireWire IO (it's a driver thing in the OS). I had the same problem with my Dual 1.25 GHZ MDD system while running 10.3.5 with a Canopus ADVC 100 before going back to 10.3.4.

I would speculate that Digi is concentrating compatability efforts on 10.3.7 or Tiger, both of which are addressing the FireWire issues that have worsened in 10.3.5 and 10.3.6.
__________________
Mark Reis
Sound Designer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2004, 07:50 AM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: Will Digi officially support 10.3.6?

Really I don't mean to be flip, but what's it matter.

Whatever they do qualify will be always be generations behind what Apple is shipping. If you're concerned about digi's qualification of a system then just follow what they say literally . . . if you want system improvements then just wait a couple of days, research and upgrade.

10.3.6 is fine here.
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2004, 08:13 AM
jepmus jepmus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 90
Default Re: Will Digi officially support 10.3.6?

With all due respect, it matters a great deal to me. It is not an issue of having Apple's "latest + greatest" ... It is instead, a desire to deal with a freezing problem which I alluded to above [a matter which has affected many G5 users]. I chose not to describe it in detail here, as it has been discussed quite a bit on the DUC; and is still being discussed in an old, rather long thread on the Apple Discussion Boards ...
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...=&sb=5&o=&vc=1

thanks,
jep
__________________
PT HDX - PT 12.5.2
Mac Pro Trash Can 3.5 ghz 6 core - - 64 GB RAM - - OS 10.11.5 - - HD/IO with A/D Expansion
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2004, 08:25 AM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: Will Digi officially support 10.3.6?

If 10.3.6 presents this problem then why would you care if Digi supports it or not?

If where you are presents this problem, then why would you care if Digi supports where you are or not?
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-09-2004, 10:43 AM
SteveSZ SteveSZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Posts: 119
Default Re: Will Digi officially support 10.3.6?

I have read threads about digi supporting OS updates before and it seems like a complicated process. Noticing that 6.7 is cs3 already my guess is that the techs at Digi are pretty busy figuring all of this out.

While I'm sure this isn't as reassuring to you as a pronouncement from Digi, I'm using 1.3.6 and have not had any freezing issues.

I'm using
G5 Dual 1.8 (first generation)
OSX 10.3.6
1.5 GB RAM
HD 2
96i I/O
PT 6.7 cs2

I upgraded to 10.3.6 before finding out it wasn't supported (ooooops) so I ran with it and resigned myself to the possibility I might have to downgrade. Well, 3 weeks in and nothing scary has happened yet. That's a good sign.

I am generally cautious about upgrading just to upgrade so I'm going to wait awhile before I go to 6.7cs3.

Good luck
SteveSZ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-2004, 01:24 PM
jepmus jepmus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 90
Default Re: Will Digi officially support 10.3.6?

First,
Thanks to those who've replied with their experience/information. I wish Digi would chime in.

Jim,
I'm not sure what you're talking about , or why ? ... I'm not using 10.3.6; I'm using 10.3.5. I'm really not sure why you're interested in making an issue of this, and I'm not interested in getting into a tangential lengthy topic here [ an initial link has been provided above if you care to understand ... and I will tell you that I've helped quite a few people who were experiencing similar issues].
The nature of my first post is pretty simple ... I have reasons for wanting to move to 10.3.6, and am curious as to if/when Digi plans to support it. Sorry, but I didn't feel compelled to waste DUC space [ as we're doing now ] for what is a pretty straightforward question. If it bothers you, mea culpa. As ProTools is my primary app, and I have a fairly complicated setup, I tend to stay with Digi-supported configurations.

Respectfully,
jep
__________________
PT HDX - PT 12.5.2
Mac Pro Trash Can 3.5 ghz 6 core - - 64 GB RAM - - OS 10.11.5 - - HD/IO with A/D Expansion
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-09-2004, 01:48 PM
Scanners Scanners is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Australia
Posts: 82
Default Re: Will Digi officially support 10.3.6?

Running 10.3.6. 6.7cs2. No crashes or freezes
YAHOO!
__________________
www.stevescanlon.com HDX-AVIDHDx2-MacbookPro- INTEL 8 CORE- 192HD/TDM ACCEL3 PCIE- AVIDHD X2 32 I/P-SYNC-PRE X2- 27"LED APPLE-23" CINEMA APPLE
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-09-2004, 01:58 PM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: Will Digi officially support 10.3.6?

jepmus I'm not sure why your upset, although you obviously are.

All I'm saying is that if you read that people are using 10.3.6 and it solves the problem, then go ahead and use it IMO. Forget wiating for digidesign approval, they are always way behind the curve.


Peace and out.
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So when is Core I7 support officially going to be supported ? chrisdee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 32 07-21-2009 01:47 PM
Dear Digi support for 5.1 on digi hardware please player Post - Surround - Video 1 05-03-2005 02:37 PM
Does Digidesign officially support UA UAD-1? sricabla General Discussion 0 09-07-2004 04:31 AM
Does Digidesign Officially Support ?? Scotty_OiArT General Discussion 1 09-05-2004 07:51 AM
When will digi "officially" support more hardware? SixChurchStreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-01-2002 10:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com