Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2004, 06:46 AM
ewan ewan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 12
Default SCSI or Firewire

I've got a G4 dual 1.25gHz with an ATTO Dual Channel SCSI Card running an Accel system with 2 Farm cards and 3 192's. The other day a session came in using a single Lacie 250Gb extreme drive with 24bit 88.2k files. There seemed to be no difference in track count between the two and I found I could even reduce the DAE setting down to 2 instead of the 8 I was having to use for the SCSI drive. Anyone else using firewire drives instead of SCSI? because let's face it SCSI is a complete pain in the A@*e!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2004, 03:34 AM
drums77's Avatar
drums77 drums77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Treviso, Italy
Posts: 95
Default Re: SCSI or Firewire

Hi!! Use the FireWire LaCie d2 HardDisk!! I have already the ATTO DC and two SCSI HD with mutch problem on one of this two HD!! The LaCie d2 are the only HD for best recording on Pro Tools!!
__________________
Mac Pro (Mid 2010) Six Core 3.33GHz macOS 10.13.3
Pro Tools | HDX, HD I/O 16x16, HD I/O 8x8x8
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12

MacBook Pro (Mid 2012) i7 2.3GHz macOS 10.14.2
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12
Apogee Duet
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-14-2004, 01:25 AM
mastermad mastermad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: SCSI or Firewire

I agree. I successfully use FW drives for almost every session. I am having a hard-time breaking from my 15k RPM SCSI, but the size on that drive is small, and the perfomance increase is not worth the hassle in upkeep and to be frank, making it work at all at times. Now I record and backup to FW and archive to DVD. I agree the Lacie is a great drive.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2004, 04:59 PM
ewan ewan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 12
Default Re: SCSI or Firewire

Is there any noticably difference in track count? and do you have problems with daisy chaining drives together?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2004, 07:10 AM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: SCSI or Firewire

FYI, There are some probles with performce ( at least on the old Mix TDM systems ) when you cross Storage systems.. IE: some of your single session is on Firewire and Ssome of the same session is SCSI... I run into this and found that simply keeping the sessions on one IO medium works far better than multiple buss technologies.

I use both SCSI and Firewire on most of my systems, and I agree, the SCSI is a little faster and seems to handle more tracks on one drive. To resolve tihs I just split sessions on 2 or more F?W drives when I need too. I'm working a 40 track mix right now on 2 F/W drives with no problems.

With the price of F/W having dropped , I now use Glpyh F/W chassies 120 gig "Keys" as they call them, for all my sessions and on all my systems. I use my SCSI disks for local stroage of misc stuff and old sessions to be archived to DVD at some future date.



cheers
georgia
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2004, 08:33 PM
mrmxed mrmxed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: L.A.
Posts: 229
Default Re: SCSI or Firewire

In making the jump from PT v5.3 to v6.7, OS 9.2 to 10.3.x, G4 to G5...
I have decided to abandon my many SCSI drives in favor of FireWire. The decision is based on "bang for buck", ease of use, and that my old SCSI card would need to be replaced with a newer compatible one. Just not worth it.

So the question regarding multiple FireWire drives:
If you need 2 or more drives to accomodate a large number of tracks, is it okay for the drives to be on one single chain? My plan is to run audio off the 800 FireWire port (2 or more drives as needed) and Quicktime off the 400 FireWire port. Is this real-world practical? Georgia?

Thanks - Mark
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-27-2004, 05:37 PM
mrmxed mrmxed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: L.A.
Posts: 229
Default Re: SCSI or Firewire

(bump)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2005, 12:48 AM
bondboy bondboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Default Re: SCSI or Firewire

Hi everyone,

Just moved to a pro toolsLE system on a powerbook G4 1.5

I'm thinking to purchase a Lacie triple interface firewire as my external audio drive.
Lacie triple interface drive

These seem more competitively priced than quantegy, but to be honest I'm a little in the dark.
Anybody had any experience/problems? Is there much difference with firewire 400 or 800?

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire vs SCSI guitates Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 32 01-07-2003 04:09 PM
SCSI vs. Firewire jaygro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 09-29-2002 07:54 AM
scsi vs. firewire fieldtheory 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-10-2001 11:27 AM
Firewire to SCSI COCO Tips & Tricks 5 04-02-2001 10:41 PM
Does Masterlist support SCSI CD-R on a Orange Firewire-SCSI adapter ?? dw Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-26-2000 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com