Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2006, 12:50 PM
tomcat tomcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York
Posts: 1,453
Default mutes make me feel like i don\'t know how pt works

it is so damn frustrating. I have a freaking D-control here, and I still can't control my mutes. Maybe someone can explain it to me. I have been using protools since version 2.5, and I still can't figure it out.

I always turn mute auto enable off. I simply want to play a section and selectively control what i hear so I can audition stuff. I mute 18 stereo tracks and hit play. It works for a short while, and I can unmute what I want to hear, but then, a few seconds in, for some reason, random tracks unmute themselves. There are no breakpoints in the mutes, and as I said, mute automation is always off. If I get to the end of a section, and hit play again, all the tracks unmute themselves. AAAARRRGGGGHHHHHHH!
If I suspend automation, it behaves, but then I don't get my volumes, which I need.

it looks like a piece of hardware, but it sure doesn't act like one. Any thoughts?

thanks
__________________
tom

www.tompaul.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2006, 01:13 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: mutes make me feel like i don\'t know how pt works

You're confusing enabling mute automation (recording it) and Playing back mute auto. Try command Clicking on the mute auto playlist to grey it out. There must be breakpoints somewhere for it to unmuting like that.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2006, 01:38 PM
mrmxed mrmxed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: L.A.
Posts: 229
Default Re: mutes make me feel like i don\'t know how pt works

I had a similar issue. It started by importing tracks from another session. The imported tracks carried their own mute breakpoints with them. A DUC post by jeremyroberts provided the solution.

Try this:
For each track, view the MUTE Automation in the edit window. Select all the data (mute breakpoints) in the track - use cmd-A for select all, then delete. You can do all tracks at once if you opt-shift select "mute" view in the edit window. So now you're looking at the tracks in MUTE view. "Select all" on all tracks for the entire length of the song. If you're not sure how long the song goes, drag all the way to the right until you can't drag anymore. But select all is better. DELETE.

This should solve your problem. You have a mute breakpoint written in there... you have to delete it.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-20-2006, 07:35 PM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: mutes make me feel like i don\'t know how pt works

Has anyone noticed that since PT 7 when you change the TC Start time of your session, a breakpoint will be written at the old TC start time, even if you have all automation enables OFF?? This is super annoying and backwards, and certainly has put me in the same situation as you. Pro Tools needs and "Erase all [mute, pan, volume, etc] automation" command.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-20-2006, 09:29 PM
JGuth JGuth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 423
Default Re: mutes make me feel like i don\'t know how pt wo

exactly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accoustic guitars Make you feel my love bluegate Eleven Rack 3 05-17-2011 03:26 PM
Send Mutes to Follow Channel Mutes Jeff E Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 08-31-2009 08:05 AM
How does this make you feel? FatBelly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 05-13-2004 09:24 AM
how to make mutes safe from automation? c-post Tips & Tricks 4 02-19-2002 12:58 AM
A problem to make me feel really stupid sidereal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 07-05-2001 02:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com