Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2016, 02:37 PM
vudoo vudoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 937
Default Show/Hide tracks with data possible with PT

Is it possible for PT to only Show or Hide tracks that has data ?

This would be really useful when working on big orchestral midi template.

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2017, 03:51 PM
Juljan Juljan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Location
Posts: 13
Default Re: Show/Hide tracks with data possible with PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by vudoo View Post
Is it possible for PT to only Show or Hide tracks that has data ?

This would be really useful when working on big orchestral midi template.

Thx
Did you find it out?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2017, 04:41 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,597
Default Re: Show/Hide tracks with data possible with PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by vudoo View Post
Is it possible for PT to only Show or Hide tracks that has data ?

This would be really useful when working on big orchestral midi template.

Thx
i would assume no .. as how would PT know if there was Data on a Track or Not ???
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-22-2017, 11:29 PM
Juljan Juljan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Location
Posts: 13
Default Re: Show/Hide tracks with data possible with PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
i would assume no .. as how would PT know if there was Data on a Track or Not ???
I think so either. Too bad.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2017, 04:14 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,657
Default Re: Show/Hide tracks with data possible with PT

A clumsy way :
open clip list
select all clips (Ctrl Shift A , Win)
right click , object select in edit window
track list : Alt Shift click one of the selected tracks (the dot left of the track name) , twice (!).
__________________
PT 11.3.1 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 64GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2017, 05:23 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,171
Default Re: Show/Hide tracks with data possible with PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
i would assume no .. as how would PT know if there was Data on a Track or Not ???
Maybe by checking the event list?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2017, 05:32 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,597
Default Re: Show/Hide tracks with data possible with PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Maybe by checking the event list?
thats an interesting idea .. ideascale time !!!! along with Auto Crossfade Option when 2 Clips overlap !! not hijacking, just another ideascale thing that needs Attention for faster workflow as "Show Tracks with Data Only" would be ..

and i did mean my question as a sincere question .. thank you so much for replying that way !!! a true gentleman !!

cheers john
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2017, 05:44 AM
Juljan Juljan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Location
Posts: 13
Default Re: Show/Hide tracks with data possible with PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Maybe by checking the event list?
But the Event List is MIDI only, isn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-23-2017, 06:09 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,171
Default Re: Show/Hide tracks with data possible with PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juljan View Post
But the Event List is MIDI only, isn't it?
No; while it won't show evidence of a waveform it will show such things as volume levels in audio or aux tracks.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-23-2017, 02:21 PM
Juljan Juljan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Location
Posts: 13
Default Re: Show/Hide tracks with data possible with PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
No; while it won't show evidence of a waveform it will show such things as volume levels in audio or aux tracks.
Ah, okay, thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track Show / Hide issues with Session Data Import acacia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 11-24-2010 03:11 AM
Show/Hide Tracks blastula Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 05-30-2010 02:14 PM
Weird Track Show vs Hide while Importing Session Data in PT8 acacia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-02-2009 01:54 AM
Hide and Show tracks bug Ray Lyon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-13-2005 07:08 AM
Show hide Tracks ZEUSS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-03-2004 09:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com