Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2020, 11:49 AM
hugodlc hugodlc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Default Reinstatement question

So I bought a reinstatement code from sweetwater that I intend to use in the distant future as I'm happy with my current version of PT.

The email from sweetwater says I should register this code immediately, but if I do so, will the reinstatement activation then sit on my avid account until I decide to use it, even for years? Or will it (try to) become active from that point on? (Or pester me every login that I need to use it, I don't know...)

Or do I sit on this sweetwater code and only activate it on avid when I intend to use it? Risking someone else activating this code? Or what if avid disavows the (external) code a few years down the road?, etc...

Sweetwater says the code doesn't expire, but is it better to move said code into my avid account or not?

If I can activate the code to my avid account but not have to immediately use it, It would be great. But I don't know if that is an option
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2020, 12:02 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,188
Default Re: Reinstatement question

You can’t move it to your Avid account until you intend to use it.

It won’t expire (Avid has said so and it would be illegal in most countries anyway)

Ignore sweetwater about registering it right away. See my first statement why.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2020, 05:38 AM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,852
Default Re: Reinstatement question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
You can’t move it to your Avid account until you intend to use it.

It won’t expire (Avid has said so and it would be illegal in most countries anyway)

Ignore sweetwater about registering it right away. See my first statement why.
Hi BScout – hope you have a great year – and thanks for your many top tips! My experience differs from your advice.

Got my Ultimate Reinstatement from the Avid Store – immediately visible in my Avid Account:
Pro Tools | Ultimate
Perpetual Product
My iLok ID
“Please select the license to upgrade from”
(Names an HD license I can upgrade from)

This is followed by a purple “Submit” button.

I’m not ready to hit this button yet – it was the fact that this Reinstatement “does not expire” that lured the moths from my wallet in the first place!
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.5 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2020, 01:36 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,188
Default Re: Reinstatement question

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
Hi BScout – hope you have a great year – and thanks for your many top tips! My experience differs from your advice.

Got my Ultimate Reinstatement from the Avid Store – immediately visible in my Avid Account:
Pro Tools | Ultimate
Perpetual Product
My iLok ID
“Please select the license to upgrade from”
(Names an HD license I can upgrade from)

This is followed by a purple “Submit” button.

I’m not ready to hit this button yet – it was the fact that this Reinstatement “does not expire” that lured the moths from my wallet in the first place!
You got it through the Avid webstore so there is no option since it auto deposits. The other poster got a code from a dealer (Sweetwater.) The clock shouldn't start on yours until you activate the license (by giving up an "expired" license.)

Avid just granted a license start date 3 years after a code was not activated in an account I control (it was sitting at your "submit" stage and forgotten about.) But the license appears a little strange (though it works fine) on the ilok because Avid changed their numbering/licensing scheme. Who knows what the future will hold next with Avid.

However the other poster doesn't have to run any risk of what Avid does between now and when they choose to use their code since their code won't expire. When they finally activate it it'll be just like starting fresh that day with whatever Avid is up to.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2020, 02:35 PM
colliderman colliderman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 55
Default Re: Reinstatement question

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugodlc View Post
So I bought a reinstatement code from sweetwater that I intend to use in the distant future as I'm happy with my current version of PT.

The email from sweetwater says I should register this code immediately, but if I do so, will the reinstatement activation then sit on my avid account until I decide to use it, even for years? Or will it (try to) become active from that point on? (Or pester me every login that I need to use it, I don't know...)

Or do I sit on this sweetwater code and only activate it on avid when I intend to use it? Risking someone else activating this code? Or what if avid disavows the (external) code a few years down the road?, etc...

Sweetwater says the code doesn't expire, but is it better to move said code into my avid account or not?

If I can activate the code to my avid account but not have to immediately use it, It would be great. But I don't know if that is an option

I had the same question so I asked my Sweetwater rep who had to check with Avid. They said to just hold on to the code in the email until I'm ready to activate. There's no way to "move" the code to avid account without activating it.
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.12
OS X 10.12.6
Mac Mini (2012) Quad 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2020, 06:07 PM
hugodlc hugodlc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 25
Default Re: Reinstatement question

Thanks everyone!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reinstatement question yop22 Licensing & Accounts 7 12-26-2019 10:59 PM
Reinstatement trouble shadowchild Pro Tools 2018 6 05-08-2019 08:31 PM
PT Reinstatement Marco Bernardo Licensing & Accounts 4 07-03-2017 01:03 PM
Reinstatement Plan not going through Michael_Knight Licensing & Accounts 1 12-31-2016 12:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com