Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2017, 06:50 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,075
Default Vote for Ideascale "Edit Window Split View"

I've been needing this feature for a long time, and I think it would be easy to implement on Avid's part:

Quote:
Similar to freezing rows or columns in a spreadsheet program, I've often thought it would be great to be able to lock specific tracks at the top of your edit window so that they were constantly visible while being able to vertically scroll through the rest of your session. For example, keeping picture editorial guide tracks locked at the top of your edit window so they would be constantly visible / available for reference.
http://protools.ideascale.com/a/idea-v2/245169
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2017, 08:17 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,621
Default Re: Vote for Ideascale "Edit Window Split View"

yeah, this would be nice for sure!
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2017, 01:12 PM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Vote for Ideascale "Edit Window Split View"

Have been waiting this for a long time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2017, 02:42 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Vote for Ideascale "Edit Window Split View"

Voted.
I would add the same for the mix window, let's say keeping the master or whatever you choose always visible on the left. Also, independent narrow mix view for selected tracks.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2017, 07:20 AM
efisch efisch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 118
Default Re: Vote for Ideascale "Edit Window Split View"

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
I've been needing this feature for a long time, and I think it would be easy to implement on Avid's part:



http://protools.ideascale.com/a/idea-v2/245169
Great idea! I would use that daily!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2017, 08:04 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,891
Default Re: Vote for Ideascale "Edit Window Split View"

Voted!
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2017, 08:10 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Vote for Ideascale "Edit Window Split View"

Voted!
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2017, 08:38 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Vote for Ideascale "Edit Window Split View"

Earlier, but quite similar idea there: http://protools.ideascale.com/a/idea-v2/220062

Better to vote both!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-27-2017, 08:46 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Vote for Ideascale "Edit Window Split View"

Quote:
Originally Posted by bad jitter View Post
Earlier, but quite similar idea there: http://protools.ideascale.com/a/idea-v2/220062

Better to vote both!
Done! Would love to have this for track comping/matching.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2017, 08:51 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,273
Default Re: Vote for Ideascale "Edit Window Split View"

Quote:
Originally Posted by bad jitter View Post
Earlier, but quite similar idea there: http://protools.ideascale.com/a/idea-v2/220062

Better to vote both!
Thanks for pointing that one out. Will merge these since they are similar.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools freezes on "Building Edit (or) Mix Window" when opening sessions Reckoner36 Pro Tools 10 5 04-13-2016 10:08 AM
Ideascale-"Song Ruler" please vote this up. Drew Mazurek Pro Tools 12 17 02-14-2016 07:52 AM
AVID, How can you STILL NOT HAVE FIXED "Edit/Mix Window Follows Bank Selection"??? Focuret Artist Series 33 07-09-2013 07:31 AM
Whoever gets PT11 first, please post if "Edit Window Follows Bank Selection" is fixed Focuret macOS 0 04-07-2013 06:08 PM
Modifier key to "click and drag" edit view around? kirkbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-20-2009 01:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com