Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2015, 11:15 AM
mblack mblack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London
Posts: 66
Default Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Hi guys,

If I purchase a non tier upgrade from eBay (7/8/9 - 10HD/11HD).

Would I still be eligible for a free upgrade/support to PT12HD ?

Appreciate any information.

Cheers
Mac
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-25-2015, 04:36 PM
longname longname is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 120
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by mblack View Post
Hi guys,

If I purchase a non tier upgrade from eBay (7/8/9 - 10HD/11HD).

Would I still be eligible for a free upgrade/support to PT12HD ?

Appreciate any information.

Cheers
Mac
Does that listing state that upgrade/support included?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-25-2015, 04:47 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,703
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

You would either need to buy an unregistered licence and then register it to you, or get a transfer. In any case, you need to be the registered owner to have access to updates
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2015, 04:55 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Actually, this is a scam. There is no upgrades from HD7 or 8 to HD11. It does not exist. There is only HD7 or 8 to HD10, which does not include HD11.

Therefore there will be no support plan or free upgrade to HD12, because that only comes with an upgrade to HD11, which this does not include.

What you could do is buy the upgrade from HD7 or 8 to HD10, then buy the upgrade from HD10 to HD11, and that will include the support plan and free upgrades. But that is spending money twice, and there may be better alternatives.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-26-2015, 04:08 AM
mblack mblack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London
Posts: 66
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Scam ??? oh dear ... all one needs to hear... so this one is a scam ?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Avid-Digid...item339e6c1209
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-26-2015, 04:54 AM
denka's Avatar
denka denka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 577
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by mblack View Post
Scam ??? oh dear ... all one needs to hear... so this one is a scam ?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Avid-Digid...item339e6c1209
This is not a scam! Gary AKA gsharp is very reliable source. I bought from him some plugs & PT HD few years ago.
__________________
AVID HD Native PCIe + HD OMNI; Digidesign 192 I/O (2x) & 96 I/O; Icon QCON Pro & QCON EX; Softube Console 1; NI Kontrol 25; Arturia SparkLE; UAD-2 Satellite DUO; UAD-2 PCIe DUO; Tascam DA-3000; TK Audio BC1-S; Warm Audio WA76; SSL XLogic Alpha Channel (x2); SSL X-PATCH; Lindell Audio 6X-500, 7X-500 & PEX-500 (all x2), lots of TCE & Lexicon reverbs; VintageMaker LittleOne 16/2 Summing Mixer; MUTEC MC3+ SmartClock; Mac Pro (2009) 8 Core 2.26; 24 Gb RAM; Pro Tools HD 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-26-2015, 07:06 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,333
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Actually, this is a scam. There is no upgrades from HD7 or 8 to HD11. It does not exist. There is only HD7 or 8 to HD10, which does not include HD11.
That is not a scam. There isn't a TDM system capable of running PT11 (which is what PTHD up to version 8 is all about) so therefore no upgrades either. If you want to upgrade to PT11 you need to be on PT9 or PT10. Otherwise buy a whole new system.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2015, 07:15 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

I will also state that it isn't a scam. I bought this same package, but 9HD/10HD along with a TDM3 system from him a few years back, and also some RTAS plugs and AAX plugs. The licenses were always good... i.e. they are still in my AVID account.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2015, 07:17 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Well, if it's not a scam then the seller is misinformed, or it's false advertising.

The description alone sounds confusing.

Let me repeat what I stated in my previous post:

The upgrade from HD7 or HD8 does not include HD11!

It only upgrades you to HD10. Yes, this is different from all other upgrades, and Avid has designed it that way for a reason. Most people on HD7 or HD8 are on TDM systems, and TDM systems will not work with HD11, so Avid has designed this to not include HD11 so as not to mislead people.

If you don't believe me, you can read Avid's own description of the upgrade posted in the Avid store:

"Please note: These items DO NOT include a free copy of Pro Tools 11 HD. If you are using Pro Tools HD 8 or lower, you will need to upgrade your Legacy HD core systems by purchasing a hardware exchange from an authorized Avid dealer. These will include a copy of Pro Tools HD 11."

And here is the link to the page:

https://shop.avid.com/ccrz__ProductD...00&&store=shop

And in the various software choices you can see that all other software options list the support plan and upgrades in the title, but the HD7/HD8 upgrade does not:

https://shop.avid.com/ccrz__Products...AA&&store=shop


So I reiterate once again, you will not get HD11, nor will you get the support plan and upgrades.

If this seller somehow has access to some special upgrade not available to the general public, than he should make that much more clear. I'm giving him the benefit of the doubt that maybe he is misinformed. But that's a lot of money to be misinformed with.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-26-2015, 07:20 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
That is not a scam. There isn't a TDM system capable of running PT11 (which is what PTHD up to version 8 is all about) so therefore no upgrades either. If you want to upgrade to PT11 you need to be on PT9 or PT10. Otherwise buy a whole new system.
You misread what I said. I totally agree with you. I said there is no upgrade from HD7/8 to HD11. There is an upgrade from HD7/8 to HD10. This ad is promising some kind of upgrade from HD7/8 to HD11, which does not exist. That is why I said it was a scam, or at least misinformed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does upgrading to 11HD from 10+CPTK mean surrendering the latter? EricWillhelm Pro Tools 11 3 12-19-2014 05:24 AM
Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay) Concept Chelia Pro Tools 10 7 09-12-2014 04:01 AM
Upgrading from 9HD to 10HD/11HD simonyeah Pro Tools 11 6 09-30-2013 02:10 PM
Buying PT10HD/11HD AC versus Crossgrading CPTK to 11HD CPTK Pro Tools 11 2 07-01-2013 05:00 PM
upgrading to HD questions and ebay redchair Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 10-21-2009 10:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com