Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-03-2019, 08:35 PM
luism luism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago USA
Posts: 44
Default Imac early 2019 with Catalina and pro tools is not working

I have pro tools 12.3.1 and when I first started it didn't have the ilok but once I inserted it it just keeps bouncing on task bar and doesn't crash..I then have to force quit it..

Any ideas?
__________________
Pro Tools 10.0.1
Imac 27
OS 10.7.3
12GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2019, 08:38 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,702
Default Re: Imac early 2019 with Catalina and pro tools is not working

Protools is not supported on Catalina OS at the moment. It doesn't work at all there is no workaround etc. Just roll back if you can :-/. Sorry
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2019, 10:23 PM
luism luism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago USA
Posts: 44
Default Re: Imac early 2019 with Catalina and pro tools is not working

Thanks for that! I will try or just reset my iMac to initial system.. what is the last stable system 12 works on? Do you know of hand ?
__________________
Pro Tools 10.0.1
Imac 27
OS 10.7.3
12GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2019, 12:26 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,830
Default Re: Imac early 2019 with Catalina and pro tools is not working

High Sierra 10.13.6 works Great and even Sierra 10.12.6 but had issues with Mojave so we returned all our Trashcans Mac Pro 12 core late 2013 to High Sierra. Really Stable and runs smooth and not missing anything from Mojave.

We use our Macs for music ONLY so we don’t need any bling and new features for the web and all the other useless stuff on new macOS stuff.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2019, 05:26 PM
luism luism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago USA
Posts: 44
Default Re: Imac early 2019 with Catalina and pro tools is not working

Thank you for that I will look into getting that installed :)
__________________
Pro Tools 10.0.1
Imac 27
OS 10.7.3
12GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2019, 03:06 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,813
Default Re: Imac early 2019 with Catalina and pro tools is not working

As stated in other posts, Protools 2019.12 is out now and offers initial compatibility for Catalina.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-20-2019, 08:28 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,397
Default Re: Imac early 2019 with Catalina and pro tools is not working

For future reference always check this before updating:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-21-2019, 04:09 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,350
Default Re: Imac early 2019 with Catalina and pro tools is not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
For future reference always check this before updating:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart
A hyperlink to the compatibility age should be an entry at the top of every DUC page just like the 'help us to help you' link
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-21-2019, 05:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,397
Default Re: Imac early 2019 with Catalina and pro tools is not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
A hyperlink to the compatibility age should be an entry at the top of every DUC page just like the 'help us to help you' link
True. Or included in the Help Us Help You page. Will see about that, thank you for pointing it out.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2019 + Catalina legasafe macOS 134 06-24-2020 11:37 AM
Supported iMac Computers PT 2019 dcboucher Pro Tools 2019 5 09-16-2019 08:43 PM
2019.6 Ultimate and iMac Pro are NOT happy together... Eric Seaberg Pro Tools 2019 17 08-20-2019 06:16 PM
Mac Mini i7 2018 vs. iMac i9 2019 George2000 Pro Tools 2019 4 08-07-2019 10:16 AM
Best Imac for Protools 2019 larsongs Pro Tools 2018 133 01-06-2019 12:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com