Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2019, 04:10 PM
Mishabou Mishabou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Montreal
Posts: 88
Default Crown 8/300 (analog) or 8/300N (network) with JBL series 7

HI all,

For a new small mixing/writing space, i have the Dad AX32, JBL 705/708i and Crown DCi 8/300. Original plan is 5.1 but with go immersive soon.

JBL recommend the DCi 8/300N (network) version as it offers EQ profile for the JBL 7 series. Since i already have the Dad AX32 and SPQ processing card, do i really need the 300N version ?

Also the ADC/DAC on the DAD sounds great, not sure i want to use the ones on the Crown DCi8/300N. I'm i missing something by going with the Analog vs Network version of the Crown.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2020, 02:31 PM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 81
Default Re: Crown 8/300 (analog) or 8/300N (network) with JBL series 7

I'm curious to know what solution you came to for this? I'm considering the MTRX Studio but wondering if people are getting results they're happy with without using BSS or Crown hardware. I have a BLU-100 but the implementation of the tunings is less than ideal. I'm planning to migrate to Atmos but the limitations of the 100 require upgrading to a more expensive BSS device (which I'd like to avoid) as well as a replacement digilink interface to get out of PT.

The DAD stuff seems so well integrated that it's hard to look at anything else. Anyone out there using non-Harman products to tune your 705i/708i?

Thanks,
Chris
__________________

• PT HD|Native 2020.3 on 10.13.6 (Angelbird SSD) // MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 24GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC FW800, USB 3.0, eSATA // MTRX Studio
• PT HD 11.3.2 on 10.13.6 // MacBook Pro 17" 2.66 GHz i7 8GB RAM
• Avid Dock,
Artist Series Mix & iPad 7th gen & Eucon 20.5
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2020, 09:19 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,890
Default Re: Crown 8/300 (analog) or 8/300N (network) with JBL series 7

I don't think you can EQ the speakers to be true. You need the speaker profile according to JBL. They should know. They developed the speakers. Best you can do is get a Dante BSS unit for the JBL speaker profile.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2020, 11:38 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Crown 8/300 (analog) or 8/300N (network) with JBL series 7

I believe someone has posted the EQ plots needed for the JBL 7 series and M2.

However, the DAD can't do phase. That's one of my requests (including an all pass filter) to Digital Audio Denmark/Avid so it is as good as the Meyer Galileo/Constellation systems!
So I believe that is one critical component to the JBL profiles that can't be mapped out.

Others have just mapped out their own response plots. And since the room is such a big factor, I don't know how much I'd even care to have/not have JBL's specific plots.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2020, 03:39 PM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 81
Default Re: Crown 8/300 (analog) or 8/300N (network) with JBL series 7

Thanks, Brandon. That's pretty much the conclusion I came to after more digging. I pulled the trigger on a BLU-DAN which allows the use of the 100 for DSP/tunings from JBL and bridge the MTRX Studio via Dante. Not my preference but the right solution for my needs. Now we wait for Avid to cough up the hardware...

+1 on adding phase/APF to the DAD hardware, BScout. I'm all about the consolidation. The simpler the better. What's their response to your inquiry? Have they hinted it'd be possible with current SPQ card and a firmware update or would it need a new card design? Just curious.

I figure I'm best running the 7 series "as intended" per JBLs suggestion and tune for the room with the MTRX Studio as needed. I can still dial in micro tweaks on the BSS hardware if needed though I do not find the software a joy to work in.

-Chris
__________________

• PT HD|Native 2020.3 on 10.13.6 (Angelbird SSD) // MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 24GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC FW800, USB 3.0, eSATA // MTRX Studio
• PT HD 11.3.2 on 10.13.6 // MacBook Pro 17" 2.66 GHz i7 8GB RAM
• Avid Dock,
Artist Series Mix & iPad 7th gen & Eucon 20.5
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2020, 01:19 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Crown 8/300 (analog) or 8/300N (network) with JBL series 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by bewk View Post
+1 on adding phase/APF to the DAD hardware, BScout. I'm all about the consolidation. The simpler the better. What's their response to your inquiry? Have they hinted it'd be possible with current SPQ card and a firmware update or would it need a new card design? Just curious.
No response. More people need to make a request. I don't think DAD understand how something so commonly found in speaker processing (pretty much any speaker processor for live situations can do phase/all pass) is lacking in their SPQ product.

As for needing a new type of card -- highly doubt it. They use the Intel FPGAs --those are more than powerful enough to implement many, many All Pass filters. Not to mention they already do delays.
All their (SPQ) current filters are IIR anyway (which introduce a phase shift.)

If the request was for FIR filters, then there could be an excuse for needing more power (as those are constrained by how many taps they can do within a limited amount of time in order to implement the pass band to stop band with minimal ripple.)
I'd be more than willing to give up the number of filters implementable in order to get an all pass filter.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2020, 10:59 AM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 81
Default Re: Crown 8/300 (analog) or 8/300N (network) with JBL series 7

Thanks for the response. Curious to see how the DSP is handled in the MTRX Studio vs. the SPQ card. Maybe it has been a limitation of writing it into the DADman software knowing they're going to use a less powerful DSP in the Studio version? That's purely speculative but yeah, an APF seems like it should be easy enough to implement given everything it does.
__________________

• PT HD|Native 2020.3 on 10.13.6 (Angelbird SSD) // MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 24GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC FW800, USB 3.0, eSATA // MTRX Studio
• PT HD 11.3.2 on 10.13.6 // MacBook Pro 17" 2.66 GHz i7 8GB RAM
• Avid Dock,
Artist Series Mix & iPad 7th gen & Eucon 20.5
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2020, 07:41 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,890
Default Re: Crown 8/300 (analog) or 8/300N (network) with JBL series 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by bewk View Post
Thanks, Brandon. That's pretty much the conclusion I came to after more digging. I pulled the trigger on a BLU-DAN which allows the use of the 100 for DSP/tunings from JBL and bridge the MTRX Studio via Dante. Not my preference but the right solution for my needs. Now we wait for Avid to cough up the hardware...
-Chris
I have a BLU-DA into my intonato. I am dante but I am using rednet. All digital into the intonato. FYI the I sometimes need to reboot my BLU-DA. Every 3 months or so. This is a bummer. I though the BLU-DA would be like an appliance. Just sit there and do it's job. Not a huge deal tho. Very infrequent.

Why would you go with the MTRX if you are already in the BSS network? Why not just go with the intonato? Probably 1/5th the cost.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2020, 09:44 AM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 81
Default Re: Crown 8/300 (analog) or 8/300N (network) with JBL series 7

One reason I'm opting to go with MTRX is because I need to replace my interface. I've been on blue-faced 192s since their introduction and I've been long overdue for a refresh. I was looking for another digilink interface (with Dante) and was close to pulling the trigger on the RED 4PRE an the QSC 110f for b-chain control. The MTRX Studio does what those two do in one box and consolidates monitor control into Eucon. I already have a Dock so this really does simplify my setup considerably. It might be a little more money in the long run but it checks off most of my boxes in one unit.
__________________

• PT HD|Native 2020.3 on 10.13.6 (Angelbird SSD) // MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 24GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC FW800, USB 3.0, eSATA // MTRX Studio
• PT HD 11.3.2 on 10.13.6 // MacBook Pro 17" 2.66 GHz i7 8GB RAM
• Avid Dock,
Artist Series Mix & iPad 7th gen & Eucon 20.5
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crown XLS 802 Power Amp wolfman_rob Buy & Sell 0 08-21-2018 11:04 PM
Network S series S3lX and S6L vikingthor VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 11-27-2017 07:40 AM
S6 and Artist series on one network tamasdragon Avid S6 5 08-24-2014 10:41 PM
Waves V-Series 'Analog' Constant Hiss in PT HD not in Logic? alw4416 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 12-17-2007 07:45 PM
Crown Amps Escape 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-16-2004 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com