Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Old 05-18-2017, 06:59 PM

Default After opening Pro Tools 12 youtube etc audio won't work

Hi Everyone,

I am pretty new to recording and just bought the Pro Tools 12 Subscription. I am using Windows 10 and a Behringer UMC204HD. After I play anything in Pro Tools when I go to my web browser (chrome) the audio on any videos will not work. Actually, audio anywhere outside of pro tools will not work. Is there a way to not have this happen? I feel like it was not happening before. It also makes it hard to watch PT tutorial videos and follow along in the program.
Thanks!
Old 05-18-2017, 08:14 PM

Default Re: After opening Pro Tools 12 youtube etc audio won't work

With any Windows setup, you will be much happier if you do 2 things;
#1-set Windows Sound Properties to NOT use your Pro Tools interface as its default playback device.
#2-assign the computer's sound card as the default playback device(this will avoid any hardware conflict, which is what you have right now)

So now you are wondering how you can hear your youtube and other non-PT stuff? There are a few ways to do this, depending on the interface. For yours:
Option 1(best)-use a monitor-source switcher like Mackie Big Knob or Presonus Central Station(especially if the computer has a digital audio out and the switcher has a digital input)
Option 2-Get a small/inexpensive mixer(Alto or Behringer, $50 or less) with at least 2 stereo inputs. Connect your interface to one stereo input, connect the computer audio out to the second input and connect your speakers to the mixer output
Option 3-use separate computer speakers for Windows sounds.
Note that options 2&3 will allow you to hear Pro Tools AND computer sound at the same time

The better I drink...the more I mix.....