Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2013, 02:45 PM
DJYoutubeDJ DJYoutubeDJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1
Default PT 10 takes forever to start up

Hi There,
I've done my fair share of googling and trolling around these forums regarding the issue of PT 9/10 taking forever to boot up. It's taking me about 10 minutes or more to open the program. Sometimes it just doesn't even try and tells me that I don't have the authorization on my iLok (which I do.) The icon on my Mac bounces for a minute or so, and then it just takes forever to open. It's really frustrating.

I've seen many other posts about this issue, but nothing has really worked for me. Some of the posts are kinda old too, so I was just wondering if anyone had figured this out once and for all yet.

Thanks so much for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2013, 06:04 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Question Re: PT 10 takes forever to start up

Which version of PT 10? Which version of Mac OS?
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2013, 07:53 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,503
Default Re: PT 10 takes forever to start up

Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2013, 01:39 PM
louieshowers louieshowers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 569
Default Re: PT 10 takes forever to start up

first thing to do is to configure any virus protection software you have. Go into the settings of the av program and set it to ignore/exclude scanning every single folder associated with protools..especially plugins. by doing this i cut down my boot time by 95%! on Windows.. Originally took about 7minutes and now its about 40 seconds (after the first original scan is complete, ex after a fresh install or after deleting preferences and databases) good luck
__________________
Windows 7 64 Ultimate: SP1
PT 10.3.8

------------------------------------------------------
¨WHERE´S MY CHECKBOOK?¨
https://soundcloud.com/louieshowers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 takes forever to start? hollywoodbeats Pro Tools 11 6 06-25-2013 05:49 AM
PT9 takes forever to start opening Ryan Young macOS 2 12-27-2010 03:51 PM
Pro Tools takes forever to start up livstone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-06-2004 08:21 AM
Starting takes forever Kiwi Bruce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 01-21-2004 07:01 PM
001 recording start takes forever jtrolka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-29-2003 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com