Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2013, 03:23 AM
hollywoodbeats hollywoodbeats is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 37
Default Pro Tools 11 takes forever to start?

Hi Guys,

I've been waiting for 45 minutes for pro tools 11 to start but it's still busy scanning for plugins (I only have the stock plugins and the BF plugins installed!)

Has anyone expierienced the same problem?
Is there any workaround?

Could this still be an Ilok problem? (Does pro tools scan the ilok for each plugin license everytime you start up?)


I'm on an Mac Pro running Mountain Lion
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2013, 04:00 AM
Raggi Raggi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Posts: 224
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 takes forever to start?

HI.
I had the same on my Win7 setup. It took forever. When first installing Pro-tools, I had Trend antivirus active and it stopped the installation. Had to uninstall and re-install. When it was done, I had to wait "forever" untill it started and now it works fine. Strange.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2013, 04:43 AM
hollywoodbeats hollywoodbeats is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 37
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 takes forever to start?

So I rolled back my system last night and installed PT 11 again, but again it took about an hour to scan all BF plugins.

I hoped this would only happen the first time, as you stated above, but i'm trying again right now. So far it took 5 minutes for the splash screen to appear and it is 20 minutes in already without a single plugin scanned!

Whats also odd is the fact that PT wouldnt start without first signing into my ilok account with ILM.. this can't be normal, can it?!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2013, 05:24 AM
hollywoodbeats hollywoodbeats is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 37
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 takes forever to start?

whats also interesting: every Ilok plugin in PT takes about 5 minutes to start!

(however my Lexicon plugins start instantly in Logic!)

does that mean it's a PT problem, rather than an Ilok problem?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-25-2013, 05:29 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,556
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 takes forever to start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hollywoodbeats View Post
So I rolled back my system last night and installed PT 11 again, but again it took about an hour to scan all BF plugins.

I hoped this would only happen the first time, as you stated above, but i'm trying again right now. So far it took 5 minutes for the splash screen to appear and it is 20 minutes in already without a single plugin scanned!

Whats also odd is the fact that PT wouldnt start without first signing into my ilok account with ILM.. this can't be normal, can it?!
Hi,

Is the ilok connected directly to the computer? NOT through a hub!!

Any external hard drives connected or USB drives pen drives? If yes disconnect them and try!

What version of mountain lion? Did you update using the combo updater? This often helps if the OS is missing a component erc.

Might have to uninstall everything pro tools and ilok and start again incase something's got corrupted.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2013, 05:33 AM
hollywoodbeats hollywoodbeats is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 37
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 takes forever to start?

Yes, my Ilok is connected directly to the computer!

I dont have any external hard drives or pen drives connected, however i have a powered usb hub connected (for my MIDI keyboard and a printer). I'm going to disconnect it for now and give it a try!

i'm running ML 10.8.2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2013, 05:49 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Pro Tools 11 takes forever to start?

Seems pretty fast here except for the Authorizing Libraries stage. Or a dialog to that effect. Windows users with MSSE should exempt any new PT11 folders from virus scanning.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 takes forever to start up DJYoutubeDJ Pro Tools 10 3 06-28-2013 01:39 PM
PT9 takes forever to start opening Ryan Young macOS 2 12-27-2010 03:51 PM
Pro Tools Takes Forever To Close Sessions lenkarm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-27-2010 01:27 PM
Pro Tools takes forever to start up livstone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-06-2004 08:21 AM
001 recording start takes forever jtrolka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-29-2003 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com