Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2011, 01:36 PM
Alexmc1988 Alexmc1988 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 151
Default Computer Keyboard for Midi?

Can you use your computer keyboard as a midi controller in PRo Tools 9 and with windows 7? I can do it in Cubase.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2011, 02:13 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Computer Keyboard for Midi?

Native support, no. Alternatively, Chirp.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2011, 08:30 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: Computer Keyboard for Midi?

You'd be much better off with a real keyboard. I got out cheap by picking up an old Ensoniq Mirage keyboard. Cost me $50 and it works! I just leave in one of the floppy disks and turn it on. It defaults to midi channel 1 and works like a charm(at least for the organ sounds I need it for using DB-33).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2011, 11:00 AM
cboyer1951 cboyer1951 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 104
Default Re: Computer Keyboard for Midi?

I use Chirp also, works great.
Also, there is no space on my home studio for an audio/physical keyboard.
So sometimes the keyboard is just find, especially for just holding a couple of keys and moving from preset to preset on structure, or other instruments.

Chuck
__________________
====================================
Chuck Boyer
PT 9, Win7 HomePremium, Mbox2 MiniUSB, AMD Phenom 8400 Triple-core , 3GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, Instrument Expansion Pack
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI input via computer keyboard. vinylrider macOS 1 05-31-2013 07:27 AM
MIDI input via computer keyboard. vinylrider macOS 0 05-31-2013 07:15 AM
using computer keyboard for midi remusjacobs macOS 1 06-23-2012 09:59 PM
RTAS Capslock Keyboard? Midi Keys triggered from computer keyboard. aasteveo Pro Tools 9 0 11-06-2011 06:17 AM
Computer keyboard as a MIDI controller? RockGod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-05-2009 03:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com