Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2010, 03:19 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,734
Default PT9 takes forever to start opening

I have a brand new Mac Pro and did a fresh full install of PT9. I've had it working beautifully for about 3 weeks. Because of the holidays, I haven't used my computer in about 5 days, but when I went back it started acting funny. I click the PT icon to open it from my dock and 5 minutes goes by before the PT9 window even shows up. Once it hits that point, it loads as usual (but taking about another 5 minutes during the "Setting Up MIDI" section). I know the fix is probably to do an uninstall and to do another fresh install, and I know 10.6.5 isn't supported yet. However, I'm wondering if anyone knows what could be the cause of this so it doesn't happen again in the future because it WAS working really really well before? I haven't installed any other new apps, I haven't added any new hardware.

•Pro Tools 9 w Complete Production Toolkit 2
•OSX 10.6.5
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
•8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
•Digi003r
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2010, 03:37 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,738
Default Re: PT9 takes forever to start opening

Have you tried trashing preference and database files? Are your audio drives in the privacy panel of Spotlight? Did you add any new plug-ins? Have you tried launching it from a different admin account to see if the behavior changes?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2010, 03:51 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,734
Default Re: PT9 takes forever to start opening

Hi, thank you for the very prompt response! I did not add any new plug-ins and I only have 1 user account. However, I trashed preferences, database files and made sure my audio drives are in the privacy panel of Spotlight. Working like it used to. I should have known, but I really appreciate the help!
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 takes forever to start up DJYoutubeDJ Pro Tools 10 3 06-28-2013 01:39 PM
Pro Tools 11 takes forever to start? hollywoodbeats Pro Tools 11 6 06-25-2013 05:49 AM
Pro Tools takes forever to start up livstone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-06-2004 08:21 AM
Starting takes forever Kiwi Bruce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 01-21-2004 07:01 PM
001 recording start takes forever jtrolka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-29-2003 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com