Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Old 01-06-2007, 03:05 AM

Default Surround Panning Question

Hello

I'm in the editing phase of a music DVD I've recorded last month. I'd like to have your opinion on a few things, being that this is my first attempt at a 5.1 surround production for a music project.
The band I've recorded is an "almost classical" double bass quartet I've been working with for some time ( The bassgang ), the approach I've used for recording is an LCR (Decca like) front and an ORTF stereo pair for the rear, all five mics mounted on a surround bracket sytem, with 4 additional close spot mics on the instruments. Recording went fine, but I have some doubts on the panning side of things. Particulary on how to deal with the center channel. The band is set up in an semi circle (a bit open to the sides) so panning for a stereo format wouldn't be a problem. I know that in film sound prodcutions the C is reserved for dialog, but what about music DVDs? Also, my mastering engineer suggested to mix as 5.0 being that there's no real "boom" or low end FX to be put in the sub. What about that?

Your opinion is appreciated.

L.G.
Old 01-06-2007, 10:55 AM

Default Re: Surround Panning Question

Anybody?

L.G.
Old 01-06-2007, 12:14 PM