Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-18-2020, 07:16 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Social Distancing: Remote Mixing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
I am getting a error like "unable to use video hardware". Ever see this one?
Ummm... not 100% sure I have. Are you trying to use a capture card or screen sharing?
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2020 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-18-2020, 04:34 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,890
Default Re: Social Distancing: Remote Mixing

Quote:
Originally Posted by noiseboyuk View Post
Ummm... not 100% sure I have. Are you trying to use a capture card or screen sharing?
capture card. The HD60 Pro Elgato.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-21-2020, 08:26 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Social Distancing: Remote Mixing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
capture card. The HD60 Pro Elgato.
(sorry for slow and now unhelpful reply) huh, just what I'm using. Honestly don't know... in the back of my mind I've seen your error message once, but can't think what caused it. Sorry for being useless on this one!
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2020 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-22-2020, 10:15 AM
NoiseRoom's Avatar
NoiseRoom NoiseRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 141
Default Re: Social Distancing: Remote Mixing

Has anyone used Listento by https://audiomovers.com/ ?

I'm not sure if it's even supported anymore but looks like it could work.
__________________
Noise Room

twitter: @thenoiseroom
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-22-2020, 12:15 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,890
Default Re: Social Distancing: Remote Mixing

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoiseRoom View Post
Has anyone used Listento by https://audiomovers.com/ ?

I'm not sure if it's even supported anymore but looks like it could work.
Looks like that one is audio only. I think we are all looking for a solid video audio transition system.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-22-2020, 12:24 PM
NoiseRoom's Avatar
NoiseRoom NoiseRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 141
Default Re: Social Distancing: Remote Mixing

Ok, got it.
__________________
Noise Room

twitter: @thenoiseroom
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-28-2020, 11:58 AM
eledu eledu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 148
Default Re: Social Distancing: Remote Mixing

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctv mtl View Post
Did two sessions today and we used the Zoom app ( www.zoom.us ). It worked okay for sharing my screen, camera and stereo mix to remote client. Its not perfect, but it's ok...


Franky
I've used zoom but never got it to stream in stereo... would you (or anybody) shared how to get protools audio in stereo to zoom?
TNX!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-28-2020, 08:59 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,734
Default Re: Social Distancing: Remote Mixing

I'm honestly having fantastic results with OBS and YouTube live-streaming. There's only about a 3 second encoding lag but picture plays smoothly and audio is "uncompressed" and in perfect sync.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-29-2020, 07:02 PM
bewk's Avatar
bewk bewk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: HTX
Posts: 81
Default Re: Social Distancing: Remote Mixing

Quote:
Originally Posted by eledu View Post
I've used zoom but never got it to stream in stereo... would you (or anybody) shared how to get protools audio in stereo to zoom?
TNX!
Ian Shepherd did a demo using the aforementioned Audiomovers Listento plugin and Zoom together. See here: https://youtu.be/OmJUOkf0kE4 It's not an all in one solution but it could work in a pinch.

I did a quick test of this setup and managed to get sync pretty close by delaying the audio stream by a full sec in Listento and using share screen of desktop video with Zoom from PT (set to selected portion of desktop) with a 1280 X 720 ProRes Proxy at half size. I set Zoom to optimize video for streaming and the video quality was acceptable for approval purposes. Listento was streaming at 16 bit 48k PCM.

Also did a test with Listento setup as a split mono insert (with link broken) on a 5.1 track. Then setup a Listento receiver plugin on a 5.1 aux (also inserted as split mono) track as each stream is seen as a unique stream. I wasn't expecting this to work as easily as it did. Specs were also set to PCM 16 bit 48k but I suppose it's dependent on your upload bandwidth.

YMMV.

-Chris
__________________

• PT HD|Native 2020.3 on 10.13.6 (Angelbird SSD) // MacPro (4,1 to 5,1) 12 Core 3.46 GHz // 24GB // AJA Kona LHi // OWC FW800, USB 3.0, eSATA // MTRX Studio
• PT HD 11.3.2 on 10.13.6 // MacBook Pro 17" 2.66 GHz i7 8GB RAM
• Avid Dock,
Artist Series Mix & iPad 7th gen & Eucon 20.5
• DADman/Eucon monitoring
• BSS (DAN + 100), QSC DCA 1644, JBL 7 Series

www.quesound.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-30-2020, 05:44 AM
musiqtech musiqtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: Social Distancing: Remote Mixing

Are you on osx or windows? I am setting up a "distributed" lab on students machines in their homes to work with 2019.12 and zoom, which is working on osx if they switch between the built in audio playback engine and the zoom audio device between presenting work and watching the teacher - however in windows 10, pro tools just steals the audio hardware from zoom and they cannot be running at the same time?

any thoughts or solutions?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
remote mixing through skype or others Nightworker Pro Tools 10 0 11-11-2011 09:53 AM
A few suggestions for remote mixing functionality... JoshRose VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 04-21-2010 09:27 AM
Remote Mixing danielgilbert Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 03-30-2010 05:09 PM
Remote Mixing garnoil Post - Surround - Video 2 04-07-2009 06:03 AM
distancing your subject delphypop Tips & Tricks 1 10-10-2000 10:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com