Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2018, 06:30 AM
noah330 noah330 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 466
Default Is UAD worth it?

Right now UA is running a special where you can get API, SSL and Neve plugins free with purchase.

I already have Studio Classics from Waves, but I was an early adopter of the UAD-1 and still have a couple licenses from when Mackie owned the company (I logged into my account and they're still there).

I really loved the precision mastering compressor and would love to check out the Studer A800 plug, but my question is it worth it to do so when I already have the Waves versions?

Anyone compare both?

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2018, 06:50 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,561
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

I think you'll find many UA users that have had similar experiences here:

https://uadforum.com/general-discussion/
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2018, 09:44 AM
Stephen Bond's Avatar
Stephen Bond Stephen Bond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,177
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by noah330 View Post
Anyone compare both?

Thoughts?
I haven't used UAD much. Some great plugins for sure and I wish I had access to some of them, certainly the more unique ones.

However, I have these things against the platform.

1. The cost. The plugins cost at least twice as much as the same code I can run from say Brainworx.

2. The cost. One needs to buy the expensive UAD DSP to run the plugins on.

3. The dongle. I had enought of carry a 001, 002r and Mix rig around just to run Pro Tools.

4. The inflexibility. I rarely sell plugins but the thought I not being able to sell individual plugins seems downright inflexible, and moreover the lack of the ability to buy a used plugin.

5. The future. DSP is dying. UAD will be the last bastion.

I did get the chance to compare the UAD Pultec and the Waves Puigtec a while ago. I put the same settings and A/Bed. Now the UAD looked fantastic and the Waves GUI poor by comparison. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I quite preferred the sound of the Waves one. I'm not saying this will be the same for all UAD/Waves comparisons but the result won't be an overwhelming victory that some UAD users seem to think is a foregone conlusion.

Don't get me wrong, UAD have some amazing plugins which sound great. If and when I have plenty of spare cash I might well buy a UAD rig but right now they look overpriced to me.

Hope that helps.

Stephen
__________________
Save an additional 10% off any purchase at Waves!

https://www.waves.com/r/9zsnwd
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2018, 10:10 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,533
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

I have a slightly different view, but to Stephen's #3. the dongle??? What dongle? The UAD hardware is the dongle

Okay, my 2 cents(and please take it that way). The plugins sound great, and in some cases, are probably the best sounding, BUT(this is where it goes a bit off the rails) what are your needs? If you want to track with UA plugins, then get an Apollo interface and go for it. Or, if you don't do tracking(and don't care about latency), then use UA plugins all you like(because they do sound great). If however, you wish to track with the plugins, but don't want to use Apollo, you're SOL because every single UA plugin reports over 1100 samples of latency, which makes it impossible to track with, on any other interface. I run a UA Quad card in my HDN rig, and find myself not getting my money's worth, and if I had it to do all over again, I would have either gone with Apollo interfaces(at the time, Thunderbolt on PC wasn't possible), or I would have skipped UA completely. As great as the plugins are, I can mix just fine with other brands
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-31-2018, 10:25 AM
noah330 noah330 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 466
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

I would be more likely to get an Apollo if it were not locked into my HD Omni.

When I had my Mackie UAD I really like it, but that was a LONG time ago (2002 or 03 IIRC).

The Apollo with Omni setup looks kind of clunky and wouldn't work with the routing I use.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-31-2018, 10:43 AM
Tobias Eichelberg Tobias Eichelberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 340
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

I own quite a bunch of UAD-Plugins and I'm using an Octo PCIe card alongside my HDX 2.

In essence I agree with Stephen Bond, although I think the audio quality of some of their plug-ins justifies putting up with the DSP nonsense, when you want to buy in, wait for Black Friday or any of the 50% off offers.

I'd add one more significant downside to using them though - the latency means I can't use UAD plug-ins before bouncing stuff into Melodyne and offline bounces will be speed limited to 2,5x instead of 10x-16x depending on your CPU. This is a really bugging me. I'm using a lot of the Plugin-Alliance stuff instead, they have a few top notch processors that are even AAX DSP.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2018, 08:06 AM
Thomas Demman Thomas Demman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobias Eichelberg View Post
I own quite a bunch of UAD-Plugins and I'm using an Octo PCIe card alongside my HDX 2.

In essence I agree with Stephen Bond, although I think the audio quality of some of their plug-ins justifies putting up with the DSP nonsense, when you want to buy in, wait for Black Friday or any of the 50% off offers.

I'd add one more significant downside to using them though - the latency means I can't use UAD plug-ins before bouncing stuff into Melodyne and offline bounces will be speed limited to 2,5x instead of 10x-16x depending on your CPU. This is a really bugging me. I'm using a lot of the Plugin-Alliance stuff instead, they have a few top notch processors that are even AAX DSP.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2018, 12:25 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobias Eichelberg View Post
I'd add one more significant downside to using them though - the latency means I can't use UAD plug-ins before bouncing stuff into Melodyne and offline bounces will be speed limited to 2,5x instead of 10x-16x depending on your CPU.
I'm just joining the UAD party, for compatibility reasons with a colleague (need to use the same plugs on shared projects) so I'm brand new to it all. The above is a bit concerning - do all UAD plugins massively slow all offline bounces? Hoping at least its only the case if the plugs are actually used in the bounce, not just in the session.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2020 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2020, 10:17 AM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,523
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobias Eichelberg View Post
I own quite a bunch of UAD-Plugins and I'm using an Octo PCIe card alongside my HDX 2.

In essence I agree with Stephen Bond, although I think the audio quality of some of their plug-ins justifies putting up with the DSP nonsense, when you want to buy in, wait for Black Friday or any of the 50% off offers.

I'd add one more significant downside to using them though - the latency means I can't use UAD plug-ins before bouncing stuff into Melodyne and offline bounces will be speed limited to 2,5x instead of 10x-16x depending on your CPU. This is a really bugging me. I'm using a lot of the Plugin-Alliance stuff instead, they have a few top notch processors that are even AAX DSP.
I'm very curious to know how much minimum latency each UAD thunderbolt satellite plugin adds to pro tools HDX. I am definitely going HDX in the future to replace my apollos and analog mixers to have everything in Pro Tools as a turnkey solution, but there are some UA specific plugins I'd still like to use when mixing, for example Oxide.
You are in a unique position to answer this so I really hope you see this post.

I understand all the individual plugin latencies of all UA's plugins, what I am after is the base latency. You can easily test this by inserting an older UA MK1 plugin into the HDX mixer, as the MK1 plugins are not upsampled and don't have additional latency.. Therefore the latency will only be whatever the latency is to deal with dsp to dsp system..
So, the scenarios I am after is one UA plugin inserted on an audio track with no other plugins, and one UA plugin inserted on a different track in conjunction WITH a hdx aax dsp plugin, where I think the latency will be higher.

I want to make sure that the low ADC value of pro tools is enough to take care of being able to at least use a couple UA plugins on a track if I want to. I can work out the rest myself as I know all the individual plugin latencies, and I can add them to the base latency after to work out what will be usable and what won't be.

Would really, really appreciate this.. Knowing this will determine whether I sell my 4 satellites and all my UAD plugins along with them.

Cheers
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, UA Apollo x3 + Octopre x3, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2020.3
-Aorus X5 V8, 6 core Intel 8850H, 32GB ram, GTX 1070, Win 10 Pro, PT 2020.3/Nuendo 10, Apollo Twin TBolt
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2018, 12:48 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,199
Default Re: Is UAD worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
I have a slightly different view, but to Stephen's #3. the dongle??? What dongle? The UAD hardware is the dongle

Okay, my 2 cents(and please take it that way). The plugins sound great, and in some cases, are probably the best sounding, BUT(this is where it goes a bit off the rails) what are your needs? If you want to track with UA plugins, then get an Apollo interface and go for it. Or, if you don't do tracking(and don't care about latency), then use UA plugins all you like(because they do sound great). If however, you wish to track with the plugins, but don't want to use Apollo, you're SOL because every single UA plugin reports over 1100 samples of latency, which makes it impossible to track with, on any other interface. I run a UA Quad card in my HDN rig, and find myself not getting my money's worth, and if I had it to do all over again, I would have either gone with Apollo interfaces(at the time, Thunderbolt on PC wasn't possible), or I would have skipped UA completely. As great as the plugins are, I can mix just fine with other brands

Great Advice, since I have been thinking of doing this for a while now. I am pretty happy with what I am running now, but will wait and see how the UAD stuff in the future all shakes out. I feel like there might be a shift to some better options for people like us. I do think there stuff is really good though. I use a lot of Brainworks and Waves stuff, but mostly I just have a great room of recording and mixing which is key. G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2019.12 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6.4 to 6.7 - worth it? pk_hat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-23-2005 09:56 PM
is it worth it? firestorm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-12-2003 06:20 PM
002 worth it? vx2kfilmer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-02-2003 12:39 AM
Is 5.1.1 worth it $50? ctsrar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 06-26-2002 03:21 PM
What's the worth of G4 933 after 6mo? beatboy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-07-2002 05:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com