Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2019, 02:15 AM
stevesound stevesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 236
Default lag issue when using tv as 2nd monitor via HDMI

Hi there,
this isn't directly related to Protools I know, but since some people on here work in music for tv/commercials (as I do) I thought I might find a suggestion or two!

I have a Mac Pro (Late 2013) with an apple monitor which is all working fine, but decided to get a tv so that scoring to picture would be more widescreen. I have a Sharp tv (40UG7252K) hooked up via HDMI and it's all connected fine. The problem is that there is a lag of about 24frames+ on playback, which makes it impossible to use when working on tightly edited material.

I noticed that the HDMI signal in to the tv is only 30Hz (the tv picture quality of the tv is 50Hz). Could this be the basic issue? Do I need to get a higher hz value on the tv? Or can I get something like an AJA T-Tap to improve the sync?

Any advice would be a massive help!

thanks!!
Steve
__________________
Prism Orpheus, PT 11, Mac 2x2.26GHz QuadCore Intel Xeon, 16g ram
Outboard - ADesign, Chandler, RetroDesign, Roland.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2019, 09:38 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,192
Default Re: lag issue when using tv as 2nd monitor via HDMI

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesound View Post
I noticed that the HDMI signal in to the tv is only 30Hz (the tv picture quality of the tv is 50Hz). Could this be the basic issue?
This is the issue and happens a lot with TVs running a sync of 24Hz or 30Hz. You need to get it to 60Hz. You haven't mentioned your graphics card but in Display preferences, take it out of "tv" modes (so not default) and choose scaled and select alternate resolution/refresh rates to get to a higher one.

Depending on Graphics card and Display (and the type of HDMI cable between the two) you should be able to put it at a resolution that works. Unless you are in Europe, the TV should be able to do 60Hz instead of 50Hz (technically 59Hz but it's close enough.) This is trial and error so expect your TV screen to blank out a few times and you might need to "gather windows" to try something else if you lose the screen temporarily.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2019, 10:08 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,952
Default Re: lag issue when using tv as 2nd monitor via HDMI

Last I checked Ireland is still in Europe

I connected a Samsung 65” curved TV just a few weeks old to my MBP and it was super nice picture so you need to set the value to a much higher number than 30Hz
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2019, 10:36 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,192
Default Re: lag issue when using tv as 2nd monitor via HDMI

Ha. Totally missed looking at the top right location info.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI connected LG 32" monitor dr_daw Pro Tools 2018 2 09-24-2018 10:24 PM
LG 50" HDMI TV Monitor P/T 12.8.3 EddieStrange Getting Started 8 01-15-2018 12:43 PM
DVI -->HDMI vs. Thunderbolt monitor question Guitarman002 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 02-08-2017 12:15 AM
PRO TOOLS HDX BUG FOUND! HDMI monitor the culprit! adrianrobison Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 10 07-18-2014 06:56 PM
Calculating Video offset hdmi external monitor justanotherpostguy Post - Surround - Video 48 12-28-2012 12:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com